We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #15 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went here for dinner the night we stayed in Killarney. The atmosphere is fantastic and you can tell it's a real local pub. On top of that, the wait staff was excellent and although it was busy did a great job at finding me and my wife a table. Plus, the food was pretty darn good and didn't strain the budget in terms of cost for two fairly big steak meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to hear your enjoyed your dining experience here with us. Although we are very busy we try our best to accommodate everyone who walks in our door.

We hope to welcome you both back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    404
    81
    43
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pub fare”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The staff at Murphy's were very accommodating when our group of 13 came in. tables were arranged so we could all sit together. The service was great, everyone on our table really enjoyed their meals; no complaints at all. Price wise - didn't strain the back packers budget and there was something for everyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin-Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Good afternoon Caitlin,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted to hear you found us very accommodating as we try our best to accommodate everyone.

We hope to welcome you and your friends back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlow
1 review
“fantastic...”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we visited this restaurant/bar recently & found service food & atmosphere absolutely fantastic...very helpful staff....great selection of food available on menu..would definitely visit again & is a must for any tourist to visit...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathyCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Good afternoon Cathy,

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words.

We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic overall experience here with us.

We in Murphy's strive to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere for all our customers.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great pub, great food, great people”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The food at Murphy's was delicious. Traditional Irish food, cottage pie, bacon and cabbage, Irish Stew, burgers chips...all good stuff. A little pricey (14ish Euro per person) but it's good food. I would rather pay a couple more Euro a person and get something that I want to eat every bit of. The full Irish breakfast in the morning is great. The last time I ate here was 14 years ago, and it was delicious then---glad to see they've maintained their quality. Love this place!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbrowne921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for you wonderful review and kind words.

I am delighted to hear you enjoy your stay with us here. I am especially happy to see you feel we have maintained a high standard over the years.

We in Murphy's strive to provide the best for all our customers.

We hope to welcome you back soon, don't leave it as long this time!

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Regularly have food at Murphys as the food is so good homely and inexpensive. Recently have tried their hot chillie beef sandwich. BEST EVER great alternative if you dont want a full meal. Great staff and friendly athmosphere. Great for kids as you can get half portions of adult meals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Good Afternoon Teresa

Thank you for taking the time to post a very positive review. We really appreciate getting such great feed back from our customers. So glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us in Murphy’s. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Sean Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing