We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best sticky toffee pudding around,”

Mac's of Main Street
Ranked #24 of 183 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kildare
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“the best sticky toffee pudding around,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

the desert was above excellent,as a chef I cud not bake s t pudding like that,mocha was also good.had cottage pie ,surprized too see cheese on the potato on pie ,only on Cumberland pie but still very tasty and great value .the bill for all was under 20 euros ,great value

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colmkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    178
    72
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
668 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Modern restaurant, supper food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very modern, plainly furnish, full menu at reasonable prices, good quality food, excellent portions - chowder, hake, cottage pie, lasagne with good bottle of wine for 3 of us came to 70E,. Service a little slow and not the atmosphere of usual Irish restaurants but I really enjoyed it and would revisit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Late Lunch/Early Dinner with kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went to Mac's with a bunch of friends. We've had 2 small kids with us (11months and 6 months).
We were allowed to choose our own seat, which was handy as we were looking for a table with a bench seat and enough space for a buggy and a high chair.
Once seated it took a while for a waiter to arrive and hand us menus. Our drinks order was taken pretty fast and the ordered drinks arrive quickly too.
The food order wasn't taken that fast, but we didn't mind, as we were chatting and happy enough. Unfortunately it took a long time for the food to arrive. My friend had ordered a baby bowl for her 11 months old son. Said baby bowl arrived after all the adults food had been served. My friends son was quite tired and hungry, but by the time his food arrived he was just too tired to eat much. This was a bit disappointing as I had taken friends and kids out for lunch and dinner to Mac's before and so far we usually were served the kids food promtly.
I had ordered the Chicken Corma which was tasty, but some bits of the chicken was still a bit tough and could have been cooked a bit longer. My friends couldn't fault their food and were happy. The portions are big enough to fill you up for the evening!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“really great food !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

On our 4 night visit to Killarney we visited Macs twice. It was recommended by our B & B. It has a more 'sterile' atmosphere than an irish pub but dont let that stop you. Our first visit was to pick up take away after a long day on the road. Our sandwiches were above average..and the smoothies were also excellent and very reasonably priced. We chatted with the staff while our order was being prepared and they were very friendly. We decided to go back the next night for dinner and werent disappointed. A huge bowl of mussels and a fresh crisp house salad were perfect. They also have some great vegetarian meals. A great place for some excellent food at a reasonable price......highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soozireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Place To Eat In Killarney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Killarney is a very touristy place, which is not my family's and my thing. But we were on a tour staying in Killarney so we searched for a place that seemed off the normal tourist map, and Mac's Of Main Street seemed to fit the bill. We wanted a place that was not a pub but could still get "Irish" style foods. We got this at Mac's. Was a good place to eat. Had good appetizers, entrees, and desserts. Limited in the draught beer choices, but that was okay. If you are looking for something a little different and away from the tourists, check it out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PackerFanInPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's of Main Street also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Mac's of Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing