We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Mac's of Main Street
Ranked #21 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just walked in and had a fabulous dinner. Irish beef lasagne was great. Good wine and a wonderful place for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mulligan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    189
    76
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Antrim, N.Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a late review, but still wanted to thank Macs”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

we were on holiday at the end of June 2013 and I reviewed everywhere we went, or so I thought. then I noticed this one missing and was blushing.
the best night we had was in here and how could I miss it..?
there were 8 of us, 5 adults and 3 kids. we were set down at a lovely big table and served very quickly.
between us we had a varied taste of the menu, which took us ages to go through - there was so much to choose from.
the person most likely to complain was my husband and he raved the most at the end...
if he liked it, trust me, its good.
he started with their home made soup and there was silence as he sipped away.
then he had the cottage pie - which seems to be a 'Mac' specialty. now it looks like mine will never be appreciated again... he had a side of lovely chips and one of salad.
I was not really very hungry that day and settled for a salad. What a mixture. It was lovely. I was expecting a couple of lettuce leaves and a tomato but boy was I wrong, and the dressing was heavenly.
the kids were well pleased and you know thats always important. they loved them all. the chicken goujons looked well made and were ate... end of review there...!!
the staff were attentive but went over and above the call when I quietly asked one of them if they could help us surprise my son with a birthday cake I had brought...
it was no problem and when I nodded, the whole staff came over and sang happy birthday to him.... the restaurant was quite busy and I was worried that they could not find the time, but no. so thank you to everyone at Macs, for helping to embarrass my son with his ''Iron man'' cake, and for serving us with such lovely meals.
if we get the chance to go back to Killarney - you can be sure we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irenethetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I remembered”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Wa on holidays in Killarney for week last year, found this lovely restaurant food was great staff realy nice and friendly so we ate there few times during the week, returned this year passing through decided call in with memeries from last year, really thought was diff place, staff are still realy nice and friendly, food wasn't like I remembered and last year and was over priced. Think ye should do what ye were doing last year what ever ye changed not good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayo-Sam-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food & atmosphere”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Located in quant Killarney, the menu provides a variety of options for anyone! We had teriyaki salmon and it was amazing!!! For dessert, we had their homemade ice cream. Phenomenal service & setting! The lighting was soft and intimate, but not just date friendly. Plenty of families were around my husband and I.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would never darken the door again”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Made the mistake of having a vegetarian girlfriend. They way we were treated by the obnoxious woman taking our order prompted us to get up and leave. Can't comment on the food because we didn't get any.

Quote of the day, "I'll give you more time, there's a lot of writing on the menu" said before turning tail and storming off while my girlfriend was in the middle of asking if any of the menu items could be prepared without meat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's of Main Street also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Mac's of Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing