We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant B&B in Killarney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant B&B in Killarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have been spending my summer holiday in Killarney for nearly 20 years and go back to Springfield Lodge time and again. Kay is very welcoming, with nothing too much trouble, and her B&B is now a real home from home for me. It's easy to reach the centre of town by foot but the house is in a quiet cul de sac, with views of the mountains from the front door.

Kay's breakfasts, in particular, are the best I have ever had in a B&B - in Ireland or elsewhere. I spend most of my holiday cycling and they keep me fuelled all day! Make sure you don't miss her pancakes...

On wheels in Ireland

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Kay thank you so much for our stay . From the minute we walked in we were looked after so well. The room was fantastic the breakfast was amazing . We have travelled Ireland this week and Springfield Lodge is our favourite. Thankyou

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed with Mrs. OShae on one of the most beautiful days of our trip. She was very welcoming and told us of the best place to go for a night cap and dancingin town (The Grand if you are wondering). The room was spacious and very clean.The breakfast was light but fulling. Pancakes and fresh fruit. Yum. We would definitely reccomend the Springfield Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed with Kay for a week in august what a lovely lady and wonderful Irish hospitality at its best. The premises itself is lovely and so well cared for. Staying with two children there was no problem with anything, nothing was to much bother.for Kay and the team. We will definitly be returing again as I can honestly say this was one of the best stays I have ever had in Ireland.
Many Thanks to the wonderful Hostess Kay and all her staff.
From Mark, Alice and the girls ( Charlestown Mayo)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I was travelling with my 81 year old father who had a massive stroke last year and my 14 year old niece. Kay was very friendly and accommodating, the rooms clean and spacious, she had a ground floor room for my father which was great because he isn't great on stairs, breakfast was fabulous (best I've ever had [and I visit Ireland a lot, sometimes four times a year]), on our last day in Killarney my niece was too tired to get up for breakfast, despite her love of food and Kay took her breakfast in bed. Thanks Kay you're a wonderful hostess and will definitely stay with you next time I'm in Killarney.
Karen O'Shea (no relation).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osheakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Kay made our experience at Springfield absolutely amazing. She was fun, friendly and very eager to help us in any way possible. She booked a tour of us through the Ring of Kerry with O'Connor Tours and they picked us up in the morning right at Springfield Lodge.

Our room was at the front of the home with a lovely view of the mountains in Killarney National Park. We had a small sitting area in our room, luggage rack, TV, coffee and tea and plenty of books. Our bed was comfortable and our room was spotlessly clean. In the morning, I did run out of hot water but my husband did not.

For breakfast, the choice was a full Irish or pancakes with fruit. Both were fantastic and Kay was so helpful and friendly. We really had a great experience here and will be returning when we re-visit Killarney next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

Where to start with Mrs. Kay O'Shea. . .from the moment she greets you at the door and sees you to your room, you feel like you are with your sister, aunt, mother, or grandmother! We had booked the family room, but I was ill. I did not want to stay in the same room with my friends, so I asked Kay if she had an open room I could stay in and pay separately for (we were using vouchers). She had a room for one night and she let me stay there without taking any payment for it. She knew I was miserably ill and had made me ginger tea and introduced me to Manuka Honey (to help with congestion) for my tea and for a lift in energy. The next evening, I asked Kay if she could call a taxi for us to take into town and she said to go out front and it would be there in 2 minutes. Imagine my surprise when I see our taxi driver is Mrs. Kay O'Shea herself!!! She recommended a few places for us single girls to go and meet nice Irish boys. She was spot on from the get-go. Lovely home, BRILLANT woman, and outstanding hospitality. I shall be staying with Kay again (hopefully in May 2011) Thank you Kay for making such grand memories for us all!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahRattigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.4 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Applecroft House
Applecroft House
#25 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.4 mi away
Douglasha House
Douglasha House
#1 of 4 in Fossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#27 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Rookery Road | Ballycasheen, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Springfield Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing