We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed and breakfast in Killarney”
Review of Shepherds Lodge

Shepherds Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shepherds Lodge
Ranked #82 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good bed and breakfast in Killarney”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Good base in order to visit the ring of Kerry.

Very friendly owners. Clean room and well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petervanburen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Shepherd's Lodge may be a little outside of Killarney but that was what suited me perfect. You will a walk of approximately 20min to the towncenter of Killarney but what is far more important that it's only a 5min walk to the entrance of the beautiful Killarney National Park. From there on you have an amazing route to the Muckross Abbey, the Muckross House, the Torc waterfalls and all the other beautiful sights located on the middle lake and the outer lakes.

The Shepherd's Lodge itself is run by Sheila and her family. Sheila is your personal host and it was a very warm welcoming and stay. The house itself just smells adorable. I'm always happy if I wake up and have a smell of flowers in my nose. The room and the shower were very clean and although I had a shared bathroom there did never - in 3 nights & days - occure any hygiene problem.

The only maybe not so amazing part was the breakfast - I'd have enjoyed some baked beans coming along with my irish breakfast but therefore you'll get black & white pudding.

For the high season the price was OK, I'd say.

What is great as well is that Sheila can get you all the informations and also do all your tour bookings, if U like her to.

To sum it up - it was a nearly perfect stay. I really had a pleasant time and would recommend this B&B!

Slante
Marc

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2011

The B&B is run by Sheila, she gave us a good reception and we are very delighted that she offered us to pick up from Railway station. This B&B is also having tie-up with various other tour operators who could pick up from the door step. The place is very quite and best suit for holiday leisure. The National park is very close by. Sheila was very very kind and was helping us find good restuarant and gave nice plan to get around Kerry.

Room Tip: Each room is best than the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaghanathanSaikumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2010

while visiting killarney and the lovely national park we stayed at the shepherds lodge for 2 nights, the host was very helpful and guided us to all the right places, the shepherds lodge is a beautiful place, the breakfast was delicious especially the brown bread and the decor was very nice our room was very cosy, it was also great to access the internet cause i never travel without my laptop. i will definitely be recommending this B&B

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sans65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloradan in Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The McCarthys, who run this B& B are incredibly accomodating (I changed my room from a single to a double with no notice), friendly, with the house being clean and appealing. I stayed 8 nights during the All Irish Dance Festival and it was wonderful to stay with them for the duration. They were available and more than kind when I had questions or needed help. By the time I left, it almost felt as if I were leaving family. And the brown bread is to die for!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler80132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed with Sheila for 5 nights while My daughter danced at the INEC . She was always so sweet and full of information when we needed it . Our luggage was lost for the duration of our trip and she directed us to some great discount stores to replenish our wardrobe. I enjoyed my Irish breakfasts and my daughter enjoyed that there were other lighter choices for her. I even got Sheila's recipe for Guinness and walnut bread and have made it twice and barely got a piece because my family loved it so much! Sheila has a nice TV lounge with coffee and tea available . My only concern was that Sheila likes to keep her house pretty cold in the morning! I enjoyed the location as it was right by the INEC and close to many sights. I would recommend Shephard's Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lala1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed here for two nights, we went to a concert in the INEC just around the corner. And we were able to go with Martin on the horse and cart on Sunday afternoon. Very nice people, they know their stuff.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJLynch325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#24 of 38 in Killarney
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 140 in Killarney
248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunn Court House
Dunn Court House
#58 of 140 in Killarney
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
#81 of 140 in Killarney
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherds Lodge

Property: Shepherds Lodge
Address: Loreto Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shepherds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing