We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fortunately decided on this B&B!!”
Review of The Mountain Dew

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mountain Dew
Ranked #24 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My sister and I spent a few days in Killarney and luckily, we decided on The Mountain Dew! The proprietress is lovely and the rooms are nicely done up with all you need and even more! She is always interested in your plans and suggests great trips to all the stunning places of interest! We did (amongst others) a bus trip to the Ring of Kerry and had a guided walk in the Killarney Nationalpark! She did everything in order to make our stay pleasant and unforgettable! When arriving at the B&B, she showed us our room and also the lounge where you can have a cup (or two or three...)of tea(there are many many different kinds of tea and coffe and soups..) and she also offered us all the sweets, cookies, cereal bars and fresh fruit being in there!
The breakfast is absolutely delicious and there are so many different things so you can hardly taste all of them! We have never seen anything like this before! Without exaggeration!
Many different kinds of fruits, cereals, yoghurts, spreads, breads, crispbreads, cheeses, juices, teas....and that's not all!
You can still choose between e.g. (different kinds of) eggs with bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms etc. or the typical Irish breakfast with black/white pudding etc. She also offers you pancakes or waffles with all kinds of sauces/syrups or fruit like e.g. bananas.
The breakfast is incredible!
You can also have a packed lunch if you ask her or have your laundry washed! Further, she offers adaptors.
All in all, there is nothing else to say but: next year, same place!


Thanks a lot for our lovely stay! All the best for your future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are a family of 4 and loved this place. It was in the perfect location and we could walk to everything. The welcome room has snacks and tea anytime of day...breakfast was the best I had in Ireland. Can also pay to have your laundry done. Eileen was so fantastic and our best host of the entire stay. Welcomed our kids and free internet...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank startravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Mountain Dew is so close to town, a wonderful park, and a short walk to Ross castle. The warm hospitality that Eileen greeted us with made me, my sister and our friend feel so welcomed. Our room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was enormous. The breakfast was out of this world! So much to choose from besides what you have to choose from on the menu. They've also got a great common room to sit in with complimentary soups, snacks, and drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stay at this place, period. They have pancake with fruit for breakfast. They have enormous amount of food, tea and coffee available for you at all time. You feel home ++. They give you like 4 pillows in your room and have good internet! I don't know what else to tell you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ojuteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, nice rooms, close to the center which is quite useful if you dońt have a car. But above all, best breakfast ever: impressive choice of cereals, fresh fruits, home made pancakes or waffles!! Everything you could dream of!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lasa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Coming from Australia, my husband & I always tend to stay in hotels & were a bit nervous about trying B&B's but we really enjoyed them. Mountain Dew was the best B&B we stayed in.Eileen was a fabulous host, nothing was too much trouble, and she was such a happy & bubbly person. We were very happy with our room & ensuite bathroom which were both spotless (we had a double & a single bed ). The lounge had plenty of tea, coffee, cakes & biscuits which you could help your self to any time of day. Breakfast had SO many choices & was delicious. Eileen arranged a bus tour around "The Ring of Kerry" for us which left from a few doors away & she even walked with us to show us exactly where to go. (I would highly recommend this tour) The beautiful little town is a very short walk away & so is Ross Castle which made Mountain Dew the perfect location for our stay in Killarney. We only had 2 nights there but would have loved to stay longer if our itinery had allowed. Would highly recommend this B&B. Thanks again Eileen for making our trip to Ireland even better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Mountain Dew is centrally located to many items of interest. Ross Castle is just down at the end of the street and we fortunately were able to arrive in time to go and watch the sunset from the castle...absolutely beautiful. We went back to our rooms and got situated, spoke to Eileen about dining options nearby and she showed us the fabulous lounge with all the wonderful goodies (my husband's favorite). The center of town was just a few moments walk from the Mountain Dew. We were able to shop a little, enjoy the quaint town and have a marvelous dinner before returning for a wonderful nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0 mi away
Acara B&B
Acara B&B
#60 of 143 in Killarney
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#15 of 143 in Killarney
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Dew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Dew

Address: The Mountain Dew 3 Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing