We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, mediocre bed and room”
Review of The Mountain Dew

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mountain Dew
Ranked #25 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We found the innkeeper to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and the property had free wifi. There is also a very nice lounge available 24 hrs that is well stocked with snacks and drinks. The room, however, was small and the bed itself was uncomfortable.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank smnirven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 167 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very nice service and absolutely perfect breakfast, the best we had on our trip. Very good location: on a quiet area but very close to the city center, only short walk there. Rooms were very small but clean and comfortable.
WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaijaR110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends for the weekend. The location is only a 5 minute walk to the town center. The owner was a great host and very welcoming. The rooms were basic and comfortable, there was a large spread for breakfast with a great choice. The lounge was full with fruit, sweets/biscuits and tea/coffee. It is worth more then they were charging.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfhappyeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at this b&b as part of a group of 10. The location is excellent - 5 minutes walk to Killarney town centre. The hosts were very welcoming, even though we all arrived late on the Friday night. The rooms are a good size, all with ensuite, tv and hairdryer provided. Breakfast was great-there is a huge choice of cereals, fresh fruit, bread and then full Irish breakfast choices and pancakes etc. Additionally there is a guest room where tea/coffee/hot chocolate and snacks are available all day.
As the weather was terrible on the second night, our group decided to stay in for the night and our hosts were very happy to let us take over the guest room and provided plates/cutlery/glasses etc for our impromptu dinner party.
A wonderful place to stay at an extremely reasonable price and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Songi_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have to say this is really an excellent accomodation.I liked everything about it.It is truly wonderful value for money.When I arrived I was greeted with a genuine warmth and welcome.I was shown to the guests sitting room where there was every kind of packets of soup hot chocolate coffees and teas of every description as well as lovely cakes and biscuits available all the time I was a guest. The room I slept in was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed also soaps and creams for washing myself in the ensuite shower.The breakfast was delicious with a huge choice of all kinds of gorgeous foods and absolutely nothing was too much for the hosts.I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone staying in the Kerry area.I would give it ten out of ten without hesitation. God bless you,John

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This B&B has everything. Excellent location, friendly atmosphere, lovely attention to details and the best breakfast we have ever had in a B&B. It is ideally located, a few minutes walk from Killarney center and very close to the National Park. Choose this place, no matter if you are travelling with your partner, with family, friends or alone. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yozpalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The best B&B we have ever stayed at: a breakfast bar to die for - we said to Eileen the host that we had never seen a choice like that except on a cruise liner catering for hundreds. More coffees than I thought existed plus teas, fruit teas etc and biscuits and fresh fruit available 24 hours a day. Fresh towels daily - 2 chairs in our room.
Says "the best B&B in Killarney" - no argument about that!!

Room Tip: Quiet location so all rooms seem equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.5 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,495 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,385 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Dew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Dew

Address: The Mountain Dew 3 Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing