We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, great food, thumbs up”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bricin Restaurant

Bricin Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 183 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Novato
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly, great food, thumbs up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Eating at Bricin ended our day on a high note. Got there at 6pm when it opened. We didn't have reservations, but were seated immediately. In the summer, MAKE RESERVATIONS!
I tried the famous boxty dinner with the chicken filling. It was delicious...crispy potato pancake
folded over a chunky chicken filling. My husband's dinner was great too - portions are good sized and include vegetables. The atmosphere is friendly, informal, and fun. The owner came around to each table to welcome visitors and chat a bit. We were debating between fussy seafood restaurants and Bricin...we chose the best! If you're in Killarney, treat yourself to a meal at Bricin's.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReginaECalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    248
    51
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Chops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Even though our small group of women had no reservations, and we were dressed for the weather- rain- we were treated royally. The restaurant was pretty, warm and welcoming. Set on the second floor over a large downtown shop, we were seated in a quiet corner. The restaurant was busy but we felt very private because of the table arrangements. Since women like to share, we all ordered diverse main courses, several of us ordering from the set three course menu with the bruschetta, or the chowder. Irish soups are really rich and delicious. We shared their famous Boxty, a stuffed potato pancake, the tender salmon and lovely, perfectly roasted lamb chops. This was the prettiest dinner and most delicious we had in the area. Our host, Johnny, was friendly and attentive, the servers unobtrusive and efficient. The desserts were rich and decadent. We had a wonderful evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VaArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Most Fabulous restaurant and excellent service :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I visited this restaurant on Saturday night for a special occasion, and i can definatly say the experience was truly special, with such a busy restaurant the staff were amazing and couldn't have been more helpful and as for the food words wouldn't or couldnt describe how good it was, from the tomato bread, spring rolls, brucetta,to the boxty and rib eye steak every thing was served to a extremely high standard and I would recommend everyone and anyone to try the bricin because there is something for everyone on the menu and for dessert the banana bread pudding is a much try for anyone with a sweet tooth, truly fabulous evening and most definatly will be back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendaodrney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our experience was incredible! The food and the service was amazing. The wait staff provided great recommendations on wine and food and was very friendly and prompt. The owner greeted us at the door and sat us himself, he also stopped by to see how we were enjoying the food and said bye to us before leaving. If any one is in Killarney, Ireland and is in the mood for some excellent wine, dinner and dessert the stop by Bricin Restaurant, it come highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a top-notch dinner experience at Bricin. When we arrived, we were greeted by the extremely friendly host, who chatted with us while they got a table ready. (We didn't have a reservation, and figured we'd be fine for a table for two on a Tuesday night. They were able to get us in quickly, but it was packed, so I'd recommend trying to make a reservation!)

The menu was varied and everything sounded good. We mostly eat vegetarian, and opted for the veggie boxty and the nut roast. Both were outstanding. It's not a cheap place, but we were aware of that going into it, and we had more expensive meals in Ireland that weren't nearly as good as Bricin. The atmosphere is cozy and warm, and overall, it was the best dining experience we had during our stay in Ireland.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bricin Restaurant also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Bricin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing