We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B!”
Review of Beniska House

Beniska House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beniska House
Ranked #348 of 552 County Kerry B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights while we were touring the Ring of Kerry and exploring what Killarney had to offer. The Beniska House was very easy to find and conveniently located on the Ring of Kerry. The building was very clean and well kept, as well as tastefully decorated. The family room we had (top of stairs to the left - Room 1) was huge. We had 3 beds, a desk, gorgeous bathroom and plenty of room for the boys to run around. We were a group of 5 adults and 2 kids, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Both Margaret and Gene were the nicest hosts. Margaret would go out of her way for you (phoning ahead for our falconry excursion for us), and she made sure we were well fed. Speaking of, the Irish breakfasts were so delicious and we thanked her immensely, even for the food she made us take out with us. The surrounding property allows for some cow sighting which was nice for the kids. Nearby is a bar/restaurant however we weren't too keen on the menu and opted out as there were more options in the city center of Killarney. We would absolutely stay here again. Gene and Margaret have a lovely home and it was a real treat. Margaret may very well be the nicest person we met in all of Ireland. Thank you.

Room Tip: I don't recall hearing anyone else in the B&B. The rest of our party (we had 3 rooms) agree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familythattravels30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

This B&B is very nice, well located and convenient to the Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. The rooms were satisfactory, the breakfast excellent and the hosts were friendly and informative. However, we ran into a problem which will preclude us from staying there again.
There were 4 in our party and there was another party of 4 staying at the same time. We asked for breakfast at 8am so we got up at 7 to shower and pack so we could be on the road by 9am. When I started the shower, there was no hot water! We talked to our friends who also had no hot water. None of our party was able to have a shower. We talked to the other 4 guests and they said they all had hot showers although by the end the water was running cool. They used up all the hot water. All of the other places we stayed had individual instant water heaters in each room, Beniska House seemed to have a regular water tank to supply all rooms.
No matter how good the place, if I can't have a hot shower, I won't be back. We mentioned this to some of the other hosts we stayed with and they all said this was completely unacceptable.
It's a shame because everything else was great. I you stay there, shower the night before or get up no later than 6am if you want to have a hot shower.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank 852TomD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights and the place was very comfortable. It is conveniently located just outside Killarney. Room, beds and bathroom are basic but nice. Breakfast has various options including Irish breakfast that Margaret will cook for you when you show up downstairs. The place was quiet and we had good night sleep. Parking is available next to the house (not on the street). Margaret is very personable and will provide any information about touring the area.

Room Tip: Coming on N72 from Killarney the house will be on your right side where you turn right toward Millto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ftoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Beniska Guest house is in a very convenient location just outside Killarney. You could stay here and see both the Dingle Peninsular and The Ring of Kerry. The house is on the main road but there was plenty of parking and the room was fairly quiet and well decorated. We had full cooked breakfasts however I noticed that Margaret catered to individual needs such as providing lighter breakfasts such as boiled eggs. The tariff was very reasonable at 56 euros for a double with ensuite. Killarney itself is a tourist town with good shopping and opportunities to experience irish music and food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at this B&B only 2 nights (12 night trip) and I wish we had stayed more.
Margaret and Gene were wonderful hosts. They could not of been nicer. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and gave suggestions for day trips we planned etc. Made calls to arrange tours and dinner reservations etc.
The rooms were of good size, and very comfortable bed. Only full bath all trip excet for when we were in hotels. And we much prefer the B&B accommodations ..... more personal and relaxing.
Breakfast was delicious and always served piping hot and not rushed.
Is as advertised a few miles out of the village but the comforts of the home made up for this...and it was an easy drive into town. On a main road but well insulated....did not hear traffic etc.
DEFINITELY ,will return on next trip!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed in September, 2011, we had book a room for one night. Ending up staying two nights. Gene and Margaret where get hosts. The house was wonderful. The food was great. Gene told us to drive around the Dingle the first night we where there. It was great. We will go back to Ireland and we will be staying at the Beniska House again. Thanks again for a great time.

Room Tip: I think the whole is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My sisters and I stayed here and it was beautiful and quiet. Just the ticket for our vacation! It was spacious and had all the amenities one could hope for in a room. Lovely hosts too. Definitely a must stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these County Kerry hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
21.8 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
421 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
714 reviews
30.6 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beniska House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beniska House

Address: Lackabane, Fossa, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 552 B&Bs / Inns in County Kerry
Hotel Class:4 star — Beniska House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Beniska House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beniska House Ireland/County Kerry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing