We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Mike Murphy takes you around you will have the tour of a lifetime!”
Review of Ring of Kerry

Ring of Kerry
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.17*
and up
Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin
Ranked #15 of 379 things to do in County Kerry
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
240 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“If Mike Murphy takes you around you will have the tour of a lifetime!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked a RIng of Kerry tour with Kenmare Coach and Cab as we were staying for the week in a cottage outside of Kenmare and didn't want to drive to Killarney to start our tour. We were picked up at the door of our cottage on time by Mike Murphy, who was probably one of the best tour guides we have had in a lifetime of travel. He is a retired teacher and really a jack of all trades, so knew both the history of Ireland and County Kerry inside out. His tour really spoke of his love of the place he has lived all his life. The tour lasted all day of course, and the time just flew by. Several times he broke into song like a true Irishman, and we will never forget his rendition of The Hills of Athenrie as we stopped by some famine cottages.

The Ring of Kerry is a beautiful not to be missed place but not one to drive yourself, nor be herded on a bus tour. We shared the van with one other friendly couple so it was very personal. We stopped at a pub for a break and tea, had a wonderful fish and chips lunch in Port Magee, and a last stop at a chocolate shop and factory at the end of the tour.

The highlight by far was the added Skellig Islands ring tour. Beautiful and we loved the opportunity to see them and hear the story of the Islands.

We were late in returning to Kenmare after such a full day, but didn't mind a bit as it was just great!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SusiefromCrucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    972
    376
    118
    29
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day for Amazing Views”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had picture perfect clear skies for the drive along the Ring of Kerry. Every option for stopping to enjoy the view was worth the time. We had heard stories about delays from tour buses (we had a car) and never once experienced any difficulties. We certainly never felt comfortable with posted speeds on such small roads, but never had an issue and drove at our own (probably irritating to residents) pace. Just pulled over and let faster drivers pass. Drive yourself if at all possible, but by all means, see the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RayeF27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, GA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Only OK from the tour bus”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I read about how scenic the Ring of Kerry drive is supose to be and I think I had my expectations set a bit to high. Yes, there are some very nice views, but sitting in a tour bus for hours this got very old. If you rent a car you may have more control over the stops and the views - but be careful! Our tour bus driver took great delight in terrifying rental car drivers. The road is too narrow in most places for the bus to pass a car; often the car had to back up 20+ feet to allow the bus to pass. My 2 cents: If you do rent a car, figure out which way the tour buses go and go the same direction.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AcworthJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Winnies Cottage near Sneem. This was an excellent place to stay if you are after self catering house. There was heaps to do near by such as the fairy trail at Parknsillia hotel (which is also excellent for a more up market dinner).

We drove the ring in a clockwise direction which had a few advabtages. Firstly you are not stuck behi e the hundreds of coach tours and secondaly because your passager is on the right side to take photos of the beautiful scenery. We stopped for coffee in Waterville at Helena's Beachcove coffee shop - great little spot with free wi-fi too, and the home baked cakes looked delicious. From there we took a detour off the main ring to the Skellings ring. We called into the Skellings Chocolate factory a d came away kgs heavier due to the amount of free samples they gave us during the demonstration. This is a must do for chocolate lovers as it is to die for. Even my husband who doesn't really like chocolate bought a packet. We had lunch at Portmagee at the Bridge Bar which was lovely (make sure you have a big appetite the meals are huge.) we then rejoined the main ring. The kids loved stopping along the way to look at and jump on the peat bogs. We also stopped to help the leprechaun cross the road near Ladies View. Fantastic scenery and an awesome drive. Don't forget your camera.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank cupcake343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We took the RailTours of Ireland rail tour to visit the Ring of Kerry. It was a wonderful tour. We started at the Heuston Station where we picked up our tickets. Our guide from the rail tours came with everyone on the train and told us where to switch trains. He also went with us on the second train to Killarney. We all got off in Killarney, where we were met by a bus. The trip continued on with a stop at the Kerry Bog Village. After that, we had a stop at the Sheep Herder place. That was so, so interesting and fun to watch as the herder gave signals to his three border collies, who then rounded up the sheep who were high up in the hills-definitely worth seeing! We stopped for lunch, and then continued on the drive through the Ring of Kerry. This is one tour that should not be missed. We ended back in Killarney where a rail tour person was there to meet us. It was a great day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jannie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring of Kerry also viewed

County Kerry, Province of Munster
County Kerry, Province of Munster
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Ring of Kerry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing