We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter glory, but biassed as I live here...”
Review of Ring of Kerry

Ring of Kerry
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.80*
and up
Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin
Ranked #15 of 378 things to do in County Kerry
Certificate of Excellence
Connemara, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Utter glory, but biassed as I live here...”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Interesting reading some of the reviews; so many disappointed because of weather or because they do not know the rhythm of traffic etc on the Ring, or even because they think Kenmare is on the Ring of Kerry which it is not. Early in the day is best; I trade at the wee market at Sneem on Tuesdays and the first coaches arrive around I pm having stopped at the Bog Museum in Glenbeigh. From then until around 4.30 the coaches come in in droves, always travelling clockwise as in places, especially between Moll' s Gap and Killarney, the road is too narrow and winding to allow two to pass. Thus trying to drive anti clockwise from Killarney to Moll's Gap mid afternoon can be scary.... while if you get behind a coach, you can always stop off at any one of the many viewing places which are hard to resist. I still do this and I live here! Just the utter beauty and that is so all the way round. And many more places off the main road also.
After around 4.30, the road is once more empty and blissfully peaceful
After all why should more folk not enjoy this beauty...they pay enough for their coach tours.. sometimes they seem to be thought of as second class folk.
I have driven Beara, and the other rings and would always choose Kerry. Just is knowing the best time to drive it and early morning is optimum. birdsong and a freshness..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank RoseMarigold77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    971
    375
    118
    29
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
181 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great views!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We just did the Ring of Kerry with our EF tour last week. Definitely some great views and lots of opportunities for pictures. We scored with a beautiful day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeaMotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Must To See When In Ireland”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were part of a group of 76 on a Pilgrimage. Our tour director was a gentleman named Batt Burns. Outstanding guide! Scenic ride which my wife and I thorougly enjoyed. I find that being part of a tour is better than doing it by yourself. Tour guides give you history and share stories.
We totally enjoyed our trip. There is a stop on the way where you can get a snack, great view and terrific Irish Coffee!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BILLB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
211 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Scenic, varied views”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It is hard for any attraction to live up to its hype when it is touted as much as the Ring Of Kerry is. Parts of it exceeded our expectations. We drove it clockwise, leaving Kenmare. The best views were at the top of the pass descending into Portamagee, which technically is not on the Ring, but on the Skellig ring at the far west end of the peninsula. The cliffs there were incredible! The views had all of us in raptures. Long stretches of road are narrow, and meeting a tour bus is more than a a little intimidating. There are also sections not particularly scenic, but the scenery on stretches that are scenic more than compensate. The stretch from Kenmare to Killarney is lovely, with both mountain and lake views. Past Sneem on the south side, where you can see the Kenmare Bay or Ocean is also a highlight. Ample services, both food and gas, are found on the route. It took us all day to make the drive, with stops at Muckross House, Skellig Experience, and numerous photo stops.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“As part of a bus tour - a highlight”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We did this circuit as a 1 day side trip on a week long tour of Ireland.
It was a nice mixture of scenery, culture, history and geology on nice roads with plenty of good pit stop options along the way.
Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring of Kerry also viewed

County Kerry, Province of Munster
County Kerry, Province of Munster
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Ring of Kerry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing