We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, convenient, cosy and fast Internet access.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, convenient, cosy and fast Internet access.”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

City centre is about 10 minutes walk and parking is available on site so it was convenient to walk into this cute touristy town. Pubs are plentiful but closer to the river there are nicer restaurants. The centre is alive with tourists during the day and a brisk trade is done by all the souvenier shops, jewellers and other businesses. Balcony House was clean and comfortable thanks to the work of Teresa who is welcoming and pleasant. The high speed Internet was very wecome as many B & B's have none.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    36
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philly
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We spent two nights at the Balcony House, which is listed in Rick Steve's guide but not at the top. The B and B absolutely served our needs, but didn't really do much more than that. It was VERY clean, and the beds were comfortable. We also felt that we had plenty of space, and Teresa was always available to address our questions. The decor isn't memorable, nor was any particular aspect of the breakfast other than to say that there was instant coffee and we were hoping for the real deal. We all felt that the hotel was well maintained, and College Road is very convenient to all of Galway's "doings." All in all, I wouldn't say it is a "must," but wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philly178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2010

My friend and I spent one night here when we had a two-days trip in Galway. After we got out from the train station, we went to College Road directly with the help of local people. This B&B is easy to notice because of its white color and the "balcony" which I guess is why the name come from. You don't always expect to find a balcony in Irish house since there are so much rain! Teresa welcomed us in the beautiful corridor and showed us two rooms to choose from. Both are tidy and clean. We picked one in which the bathroom is bigger. The bed is very comfortable and the sheets smell really nice :) In the next morning we found how delicate the dining room was when we had our breakfast. There was a range of food you can choose from and I highly recommend the little round bread with raisin in it. Yummy ~ Then Teresa served us with bacon, eggs and tea. The breakfast was lovely. I'm especially grateful to Teresa for her help to call the travel bus come here and pick us up to the Cliff of Moher. If there was something unsatisfying that would be there was no Wi-fi in our room. In all it's a comfortable B&B to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliePadme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

I had emailed with Teresa before we went to Ireland for my birthday celebration. It was a few friends and me that traveled to Galway, during some of the worst floods the region has seen in a long time. The weather was cold and rainy but Teresa's home was warm and inviting. She provided us maps and directions to the sights and in the AM made us a wonderful hot breakfast which wasn't the norm she said. The food was excellent as was the coffee. After 3 days of late nights we all needed a good night rest and the beds were warm and comfortable. I would definitely reccomend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for Irish hospitality and comfort.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chlodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed two nights, very beautiful older victorian home...very well kept. Teresa gave us a warm welcome and she is a wonderful cook...you do not go away hungry. I loved the outside deck in the front, and the coffee/tea pot in the room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddmac98042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2009

My sisters and I spent 4 nights here - 3 at the end of August and 1 in early September. Galway is close to the airport in Shannon, so we spent our first three nights here. There were two of us the first night, and three of us the other nights as one sister came a day later. Teresa had a room for us that would accommodate all of us - 3 separate beds, for all nights. It was so nice to not have to move rooms after the first night. There is also parking which in Galway can be hard to come by, and since the B&B is within walking distance to the city center (~7 mins to Eyre Square), it was a perfect location. Quiet yet convenient - if you are driving, it is easy to get to all major roads without going through the center of town. Teresa is delightful, and she serves a lovely breakfast. We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned for the last night before going to the airport. We were driving in from Belfast that day, and with some stops along the way, it was very late (after 11 pm!) when we arrived. We called ahead to let Teresa know we would be late, and she was sure to have someone meet us and they assured us that night and the next morning that it was no trouble (which we know it was and truly appreciate the flexibility). Also, Teresa made sure we had plenty of towels and refreshed them daily.

Galway is one of my favorite places in Ireland, and many thanks to Teresa for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Just a short walk into the hustle and bustle of the city this bed and breakfast was warm and welcoming. On a quiet street outside the city made it great for sleeping and siteseeing. Very easy to get to both walking and by car if traveling outside the city for a day. Great place to plant for a few days and catch in the sites nearby. Definitely made a home away from home. Fresh towels and beds made daily made it easy to stay out late and curl up into a nice comfy clean room. Theresa was very warm and welcoming and making sure you were having a good time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enjoying_Life04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#41 of 188 in Galway
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#26 of 188 in Galway
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#12 of 188 in Galway
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#23 of 188 in Galway
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 188 in Galway
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balcony House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Balcony House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony House Bed And Breakfast
Balcony House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing