We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
Review of food for thought

food for thought
Ranked #145 of 484 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Dublin Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A Saturday afternoon early lunch and an under-loved chicken and broccoli pie. It was under-seasoned and very rustic, with very large chunks of broccoli. The apple and celery salad accompaniment was under mixed with large globs of mayonnaise unmixed with the rest of the ingredients. The coffee was poor. A tuna wrap was left half eaten by one of the party, another extracted a lot of the cheese from their toasted cheese sandwich and the fourth found the vegetarian Panini to be "tasty". It all came to just under €30, so good value. It was supposed to be "wholesome" food, it probably was wholesome before the chef got their hands on it. It is ordinary back street deli microwave food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cultural-Weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pretentious at best”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place boasts healthy and genuine food. It ends up serving regular diner food at considerably higher prices. It also boasts vegetarian options, but my vegetarian friends weren't exactly happy with the number of choices on the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Ciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Homely atmosphere, good breakfast”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I couldn't find anywhere in Galway City to have a simple breakfast at 7.45am in the morning. I tried the usuals- one cafe which would usually be a reliable- rudely told 'we're not open yet' in a really unfriendly way. A hotel also told me 'our kitchen isn't open until 8'.

By the time I passed Food for Thought- I hadn't even considered it as an option. I arrived in and was greeted by a really pleasant lady, she was very busy (the place was full- no surprise) and yet she managed a smile and a simple friendliness. I was told the tea was free so ask for refills if I wanted one. I had forgotten to collect my cutlery before I sat down and she told me 'no problem, I will get it for you'.

I couldn't have asked for better service on a dreary early morning, it was like a haven in the middle of the City. Good honest to goodness food and a friendly smile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Quite good value”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely chilli chicken wrap and a nice hot cappucino. Hubby had a BLT and juice. Nice enough place, staff were perhaps a little unfriendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AandP433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A family favourite”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Love the atmosphere, the food and the fact its always a lovely welcome when we visit. Kids favourite place to have lunch in Galway.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Cinnamatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed food for thought also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to food for thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing