We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Hotel in Wonderful City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trendy Hotel in Wonderful City”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Clayton Hotel has a modern feel to it. The rooms were wonderful and very clean. Staff was extremely helpful -- especially with directions! Close proximity to Galway City --- drive is less then 15 minutes. WIFI is free and works great. Hotel breakfast and bar were fabulous. Convenient grocery store located across the street. Parking onsite is free. Loved our time here!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Nicola H,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm glad that the hotel obviously ticked all the boxes for you and I really do appreciate your recommendation.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    605
    225
    65
    36
See reviews for
426
663
60
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed 1 Night here , check in was quick and the reception staff are very friendly. The room was nice, it had had the usual flat screen tv, safe , iron and hair dryer , etc . The Swimming pool was quite small for a hotel of its size. Breakfast was nice with plenty of options. Only let down is the location of the Hotel, would cost between 12- 15 euros for a taxi into the city. Overall did enjoy my stay in the hotel and would recommend it to others , however personal I would stay closer to the city next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear PatDub,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your brief stay in the Clayton Hotel. I appreciate your business and I'm glad everything was to your satisfaction. Whilst it's true we're located on the Eastern edge of Galway I'd just like to point out that the hotel is well served by the local bus network and that provides a feasible and obviously much cheaper alternative to a taxi fare. It mightn't always suit everyone (departures every 30 mins from our door to Eyre Square) but such is the congestion around the city centre at times and the cost of parking that there are definite advantages to utilising the local transport! Anyway I do hope it won't be too long before you are back to stay again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here recently with 3 other couples. Marius on check-in was a pleasure to deal with a really nice introduction to the hotel. The room was clean and modern. The beds are extremely comfortable. We had a few drinks in the bar before and after dinner. Again the bar staff were very courteous. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. It is very well priced and the portions are big. We all left stuffed to the gills. The waiting staff were very attentive and polite. Our group could not fault them in any way. They are a credit to the hotel. The same top class service was provided the next morning at breakfast. The selection at breakfast was very good. The croissants and cheeses are fantastic. We only had a short stay but I could not find any fault with the hotel or there staff. I will defiantly be using this as my base when I'm back in Galway. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Thanks for looking after us so well.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Patrick S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. Your comments are really positive and welcome and I know that Marius in particular (who has only been with us a short while) will be thrilled with your recognition of his hard work. I do hope that we'll see you back here in the Clayton regularly from now on.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Our room had air conditioning, a comfortable bed and a huge jet shower head! Breakfast was awful - had to leave it was so bad and the coffee shop was closed every time we passed it. Location - way too far outside of Gallway.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYandHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear KYandHy,

Thank you for posting a brief review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm glad you liked your room, the comfort of our beds is certainly something that gets commented on a lot. It's disappointing to learn you didn't like the breakfast offering, I'm not sure what is was that turned you off so much perhaps if you have time you could send me a note with some further details? I can be reached on rory.fitzpatrick@clayton.ie.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great hotel with super spacious room. Ours felt like a suite but was just a big room with a very nice and large modern bath. Great in room WiFi. We ate at the bar restaurant one night as the main restaurant was filled with a bus tour group (one small bother with the hotel) but the food was very good. The tour groups are metered into breakfast so we found no crowds at breakfast which as very nice. This hotel is in the suburbs of Galway but we only planned to go into Galway on one of our days in the area as the rest of the time was exploring the countryside of Galway County and the Connemara. To get into the city center is very easy as a bus stops in front of the hotel and the route ends right at the start of the city center pedestrian streets. Buses run on a tight schedule so getting the return bus is easy too. The car park was quite open free and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear buckeye-dude,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. It's great to learn you enjoyed your rooms and the food so much and I really do appreciate your recommendation.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night family break in the Clayton and can say we really enjoyed our stay. We checked in with no problems and were given a room on 2nd floor on the wing where swimming pool was as it was great for kids.Our family room was fantastic and was very spacious and spotlessly clean.Beautifull white fluffy towels in a very large bathroom .It was also very quiet and peacefull at night and we slept sound .We had dinner on our 1st night in the bar very reasonable price and an excellent offer for kids menu of dinner dessert and a drink for€8.95 which was great kids loved their meal.Some really excellent dishes on the menu We were served by Daniel and have to say a very polite and friendly young man who engaged in conversation with 2 boys about GAA football and telling them he was from Kerry the home of the Gooch (kerry footballer) really impresssed them.he had no problems gettin them extra jugs of drinks and chatting away to them and did so with all the customers in the bar .Breakfast is also top class with everything you could want on display and if you have any request for poached boiled fried eggs no problem getting them from kitchen.Kids loved the pool and a realy nice young man doin lifegaurd got them some floats and balls to play with and here was also spotlessly clean.we spent our days touring around galway and just outside the main door is a bus 403 runs every 30 min that brings you in to Eyre Square middle of the city €6.20 for a family saves havin to drive in and parking charges The hotel is also close to shopping centre and cinema and there is a dunnes stores, chemis,t and some more shops across road.On our last night we had dinner in the restaurant and again top class food and service Have to thank the maid who was cleaning our room as you can imagine with 2 kids lots of stuff everywhere and when we returned every day she had the room tidy its the little things that gives us mammys a rest that count.We highly recommend this hotel for a break away for all not just familys.As we were checking out on Friday they were gettin ready for a wedding and it looked just amazing .The management of this hotel should be very proud of its staff who all do amazing work and do what the Irish are supposeto do and extend a Cead Mile Failte but unfortunately is not always the case in some hotels .Thanks to all at The Clayton for a most enjoyable& relaxing few days in beautifull Galway

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wileyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear wileyk,

Thank you so much for posting such a comprehensive review of your stay and sharing all that with us. I'm delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your time here in the Clayton. I'll certainly share your comments with all the team and I'll know everyone will be thrilled because you pretty much touched on all departments with your praise.
I really do hope it won't be too long before you're back in Galway again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
Level Contributor
324 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very professional and pleasant staff at front desk, concierge, baggage service, restaurant. God is good. Close to a small shopping mall with a nice supermarket. Breakfast very good, you make your own hot pancakes. Good variety of tea. 10 minutes drive from all the action.
Different from 3* hotels this 4* will give you 2nd wake up call if you need it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Bonita B,

Thank you so much for posting a brief review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I appreciate your recommendation.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing