We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town but well worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
dayton, ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Out of town but well worth it”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great hotel with super spacious room. Ours felt like a suite but was just a big room with a very nice and large modern bath. Great in room WiFi. We ate at the bar restaurant one night as the main restaurant was filled with a bus tour group (one small bother with the hotel) but the food was very good. The tour groups are metered into breakfast so we found no crowds at breakfast which as very nice. This hotel is in the suburbs of Galway but we only planned to go into Galway on one of our days in the area as the rest of the time was exploring the countryside of Galway County and the Connemara. To get into the city center is very easy as a bus stops in front of the hotel and the route ends right at the start of the city center pedestrian streets. Buses run on a tight schedule so getting the return bus is easy too. The car park was quite open free and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear buckeye-dude,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. It's great to learn you enjoyed your rooms and the food so much and I really do appreciate your recommendation.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    607
    225
    65
    36
See reviews for
427
664
60
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night family break in the Clayton and can say we really enjoyed our stay. We checked in with no problems and were given a room on 2nd floor on the wing where swimming pool was as it was great for kids.Our family room was fantastic and was very spacious and spotlessly clean.Beautifull white fluffy towels in a very large bathroom .It was also very quiet and peacefull at night and we slept sound .We had dinner on our 1st night in the bar very reasonable price and an excellent offer for kids menu of dinner dessert and a drink for€8.95 which was great kids loved their meal.Some really excellent dishes on the menu We were served by Daniel and have to say a very polite and friendly young man who engaged in conversation with 2 boys about GAA football and telling them he was from Kerry the home of the Gooch (kerry footballer) really impresssed them.he had no problems gettin them extra jugs of drinks and chatting away to them and did so with all the customers in the bar .Breakfast is also top class with everything you could want on display and if you have any request for poached boiled fried eggs no problem getting them from kitchen.Kids loved the pool and a realy nice young man doin lifegaurd got them some floats and balls to play with and here was also spotlessly clean.we spent our days touring around galway and just outside the main door is a bus 403 runs every 30 min that brings you in to Eyre Square middle of the city €6.20 for a family saves havin to drive in and parking charges The hotel is also close to shopping centre and cinema and there is a dunnes stores, chemis,t and some more shops across road.On our last night we had dinner in the restaurant and again top class food and service Have to thank the maid who was cleaning our room as you can imagine with 2 kids lots of stuff everywhere and when we returned every day she had the room tidy its the little things that gives us mammys a rest that count.We highly recommend this hotel for a break away for all not just familys.As we were checking out on Friday they were gettin ready for a wedding and it looked just amazing .The management of this hotel should be very proud of its staff who all do amazing work and do what the Irish are supposeto do and extend a Cead Mile Failte but unfortunately is not always the case in some hotels .Thanks to all at The Clayton for a most enjoyable& relaxing few days in beautifull Galway

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wileyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear wileyk,

Thank you so much for posting such a comprehensive review of your stay and sharing all that with us. I'm delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your time here in the Clayton. I'll certainly share your comments with all the team and I'll know everyone will be thrilled because you pretty much touched on all departments with your praise.
I really do hope it won't be too long before you're back in Galway again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
Level Contributor
324 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very professional and pleasant staff at front desk, concierge, baggage service, restaurant. God is good. Close to a small shopping mall with a nice supermarket. Breakfast very good, you make your own hot pancakes. Good variety of tea. 10 minutes drive from all the action.
Different from 3* hotels this 4* will give you 2nd wake up call if you need it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Bonita B,

Thank you so much for posting a brief review of your stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I appreciate your recommendation.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stopped at the Clayton with himself and 3 kids (13, 5, 1) as we regularly do, to have lunch. Himself ordered soup for the starter and had to return the brown bread as it was stale. The time it took for the food to come out was dreadfully slow. Kids ordered from the children's menu and 13 year old was served one slice of pizza when any time in the past it was a personal pizza. Had to bring it to waitress attention and 15 mins later 2 more slices came out when the rest were finished. Himself ordered the burger and it came out burnt, I ordered the club sandwich which had over cooked bacon and brown/green lettuce. We have always enjoyed our visits and stays at this hotel and were really disappointed with today's experience. How could they have got soo much wrong in one visit?

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyLWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear MandyLWestmeath,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent dining experience in the Clayton Hotel. I greatly appreciate all the feedback I get as I believe it can often help us become better at what we do. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch, I will raise the points you made with the kitchen and bar team and I know they will work much harder to ensure we don't let ourselves down in this manner again. Certainly what you experienced isn't typical as can be seen by the many positive reviews the bar food in particular gets and I guess as regular diners you know this as well. By all means the next time you are passing please call in and I would be delighted to discuss this further with you personally. In the meantime I can be reached directly on rory.fitzpatrick@clayton.ie if you have any additional comments.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel is modern thing about 5 minutes drive from the action, we looked repeatedly for the best value in Galway and kept coming back here. Glad we did.

The hotel staff (Stephanie in particular) were exceptional, the bar keeps friendly and prompt and while we had a minor issue with a request not being fulfilled (requested a mini fridge), we were spotted breakfast for their oversight.

If you are driving around Ireland like we were, this is a great spot to stay, complimentary parking and wifi.

Room Tip: The rooms on the north side are along the highway, but noise was never an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Dann K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay despite our error in not supplying a fridge for your room but I do appreciate your understanding. Your recommendation is valuable to me and if you do find yourself back in Ireland again be sure to call in.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moate, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a fantastic stay. It was the ideal location for our party of 20 Adults 9 kids. From the first email I sent until we left the hotel, every member of staff I dealt with were so helpful and professional. The check in was so smooth, as there were lots of different requests i.e. travel cots, inter connecting rooms, an upgrade… etc. etc.! Our rooms were perfect so spacious and clean.
The restaurant was set up perfect for our party and our meal was delish.
Our large party ranged in age from 1 to 70 and everyone had a most enjoyable stay. I will definitely stay at the Clayton again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneG365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear JoanneG365,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted we were able to keep everyone happy and I want to thank you especially for choosing the Clayton as the venue for your get together. I hope it's not too long before you can think of another excuse to visit again!

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel, friendly staff, lovely food, rooms are a really high standard, spacious and comfortable. Free parking and free wifi were great benefits.
Loved staying here hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Grace W,

Thank you so much for posting a brief review after your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm glad that everything met with your approval and I really do hope it won't be too long before you are back with us again.

Best regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing