We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable and beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This a very beautiful hotel even if its not too far from the city centre. They have a kids activity group every evening and time set aside for the children in the pool. The building is clean and modern and every evening has time set aside for only adult in the pool. The breakfast has a wide variety of cold and warm foods in a large dining area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathymarcil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

our trip to Ireland was actually in august 2006. we stayed at the clayton hotel for a night. it was a very modern, clean hotel that was close by to everything. we were on a coach tour so there were approx. 50 people. this hotel was quick in getting everyone settled in and most accommodating and friendly.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and hopefully we will get back to Ireland one day.

Room Tip: this was an exclusive hotel to stay in due to the cleanliness and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I spend one night last weekend at this hotel and were really impressed with the service, our room and the food.
We had dinner in the bar and it was great, breakfast next morning not to be missed,

I highly recommend this hotel in Galway..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockchic049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

good size room with a comfy bed and a full bathroom with shower over
The usual tea and coffee making facilities as well. No in room minibar but there are plenty of vending machines for bits and pieces
The bar is nice and the staff friendly. The Guinness is very good ;-)
There wis a small gym with slightly odd opening times, 7-11 and 2-9 roughly but its functional and enough. There is also a pool which is quite nice and good for lengths
The breakfast is a full Irish one, buffet style with REALLY good sausages and bacon ;-)

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just returned from a family hotel at the Clayton. The staff throughout the hotel were so friendly. The hotel is spotless and the food in the bar was great, try the steak. Thank you to all the staff for an amazing break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A massive Congrats to the Owners/managers of this hotel. By far the best 4 star hotel I have stayed in EVER.... Booking procedure, accommodation staff, reception staff all first class , a true Gem of a hotel. I stayed in a 5 star hotel, 3 weeks prior to my stay in the Clayton, and there was no comparison. The Clayton is an excellent, beautiful, trendy and very modern hotel in an excellent location. Had a fabulous evening meal, and beautiful breakfast. First Class.
In addition to this the price for the accommodation was excellent. The only down side, was the price of alcohol. We only had 2 drinks so wasn't a major concern for us, but a pint of beer cost in excess of €5.... (Rip of Ireland) can't really fault the hotel for this though, as I'm sure its just the knock on effect from rates , charges etc.
Will definitely stay here again on return to Galway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Clayton. The front desk staff was very friendly and we checked in with no problems at all. The room as nice and clean and the bathroom was modern and clean also. The beds there are to die for! So VERY comfy!!!

Breakfast was ok. Could have been more to choose from, but it was fine.

The hotel was very pretty from the outside, and we enjoyed our stay there. Staff were kind and accomodating. Good experience here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisMac19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,153 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
402 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,143 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,736 reviews
2.4 mi away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Family Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $73 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing