We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely staff, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely staff, great hotel”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here recently with my partner and two children. The hotel was a bit out of the way and hard to find as I am not familiar with Galway. On arrival we were greeted straight away by a very friendly and helpful receptionist. The room was extremely clean and spacious. We ate in the bar around 7.30 and the food was quite impressive as we were'nt expecting much.The staff there were really helpful and friendly.Our breakfast the following morning was also good.Unfortunately we didnt have time to use the pool there but we will definately be going back again as we were made to feel very welcome. Overall the best thing about this hotel was the staff and its cleanliness

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    607
    225
    65
    36
See reviews for
427
664
60
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
205 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed one night at the Clayton Hotel. It was on the edge of town in a more corporate area so if you’re interested in walking around downtown Galway, it’s not the best location. We had to drive about 10 minutes to the city center to get a real taste of what Galway had to offer. The hotel staff was helpful in guiding us in the right direction. The room was spacious, very clean, quiet, and comfortable and the staff was accommodating. The hotel and room had a very modern look to it. Interesting bathroom. There was also a bar and restaurant on site but we didn’t try it. The room offered everything you could possibly want. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Just remember you need to drive to get to the old downtown Galway from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifiBojangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I arrived at the Clayton last night and was stunned by the interior,a fresh mix of classy and contemporary! The room was fabulous,very clean and the bathroom was just amazing! Friendly staff and great car parking facilities! A little outside Galway city not a problem if you have a car!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyler-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed recently in the Clayton hotel in Galway and I cant speak highly enough about it.
It was a classy ,elegant , stylish hotel. The room was spacious , big bathroom , spotless . The breakfast was a buffet with an excellent choice of various foodstuffs , juices, breads , tea ,coffee also. The staff were friendly from the cleaners to the reception , bar staff , in fact all of them !It has an abundance of parking facilities including an underground car park. There is a fine leisure centre.

The only drawback is it a fair distance outside the city centre , it costs around€12 for a cab or as the staff told me the bus stop is outside the door and for €1.80 you can get to Eyre Square every half hour or so.I would recommend this hotel to anyone , I fall into the category of a "seasoned traveller" , so I have some pretty poor hotels but this ranks up around the top.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the top floor (around 400's) , then you have a balcony and an excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Clayton gets points for cleanliness, comfortable beds, great showers, and tasty breakfasts. If you're looking for a high walkability factor, however, this is not the hotel for you -- it's about a 10-minute drive from downtown Galway/pubs/nightlife. The neighborhood isn't really a neighborhood at all -- corporate offices, fast-food restaurants, etc. -- more of a strip mall atmosphere. If you don't mind driving in to town (and we didn't), then it's a great value for your travel dollars. But if you want a quaint, homey feel, book a B&B in town instead.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

JUst writing this review to hopefully wake up the catering staff in the clayton,,,ive had dinners in the clayton numerous times in the last year and the food was absolutely delicious when i got it right,...the third last time i decided to treat myself to dinner in the bar there though i got scalding hot reheated food which from the taste of it had been cooked around two and reheated in a microwave when i had arrived at around 7.30pm....that isnt acceptable considering the beef dinner wasnt exactly a cheap option...i was back in galway again afew months later and was hungry so said id give them another chance...and this time the food was fine...no complaints at all...back in for another treat again recently and this time i got a pretty poor dinner again..and some of the garnish on the side was actually stale!!.there was no care or effort put into the dinner..if i had attempted to make it myself at home it would have been way nicer.....and that should never be the situation...i dont treat myself to dinner out too often and when i do eventually afford to treat myself out i expect the place to put in a good effort,,,

the hotel needs to address this issue as they cant afford to offer this standard of food to the public and its going to drive away lots of potential returning customers like myself who is goin to find it hard to justify spendin my hard earned cash there after the last experience

the hotel itself is lovely and the people serving are lovely....so why let the experience down by not ensuring top class food is served all the time there...please guys..address this issue

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaleHarris, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear p b,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent dining experience in the Clayton Hotel. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will help assist us in our continuos efforts to maintain and improve the level of service we aim for. It is dissapointing to hear that the last time you dined with us the quality of food was not satisfactory. I appreciate that you brought this matter to our attention and we will be working to maintain a consistent level of service and quality of food that we provide to our guest.
Once again thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dale Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 days on our anniversary trip to Ireland. We stayed in their suite and it was amazing and huge. The bathroom was so spacious. The staff at the reception were very friendly. The breakfast every morning was fresh and lots of option. We had a fantastic stay here and would recommend to everyone. It is only 10mins from Galway city and 1hr from Cliff of Moher and other attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing