We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Galway away from the congestion of town. The Clayton Hotel was perfect with easy access to highways. Very friendly staff, nice restaurant/bar, and room that were very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a room on the opposite side from the highway to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,179 - 1,185 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have stayed at many of the hotels in Galway and most are only over-rated facilities and so-so service as well as overpriced. This hotel has such a location that it is a 10 minute drive into Galway but is both clean and cheap. Do not expect really any level of service or frills. Just a clean cheap room and that is one thing this hotel delivers. Also it has free outdoor parking, albeit many times congested. Close is a number of fast-food options and driving in to the city a number of restaurants.

Suitable for visitors to NUIG as well as the city..

Room Tip: Ask for quiet one as many times they host events and or parties..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 1 night and eat in Galway but the Clayton is an excellent hotel with large, comfortable and modern rooms. It's a large hotel on the outskirts of Galway, close to the racecourse. A taxi into town will set you back about 18 euro each way. Room rates reflect the distance from the city.

Room Tip: My wife always asks for the top floor away from the lift and it seems to work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank researcher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. The staff were fantastic and couldn't have looked after us any better. The food was lovely with great choice. I will definitely come back here again. The only fault I would have Is one of the night bar staff I think he might have even been the manager his manner and people skills were horrible and left alot to be desired!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladydi2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights on B & B plus dinners deal, excellent value, Hotel is clean and staff extremely helpful, especially the bar and kitchen staff in the Bistro where we elected to eat. food was very good, the Caesars salad was exceptional complemented by the Guinness on draught. Rooms are large, twin room had King size and large single beds, and comfortable with baths and shower en suite. The combination of room, service and facilities so near to the attractions of Galway made for a most enjoyable stay, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the odd numbered rooms on the second floor overlooking main road, no appreciable noise wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Clayton Hotel. We knew it was located out of town but as we intended touring that was fine. Good points - spacious, clean rooms with air con and a very good housekeeping service, all at a very reasonable price. On the downside, our room had no fridge/mini bar and it could have done with a paint touch- up here and there (room 406). Generally, there was a lack of buzz about the hotel and a lack of evening entertainment which was disappointing. Also, beware of the local taxi prices into town which varied from between 12-17 euros each way, so you need to factor that into the overall cost of your stay. I felt the hotel should have negotiated a standard taxi rate for guests - the taxi driver on our first night charged us 17 euros into Galway - a total rip off!! We did mention this to the hotel reception, but they didn't seem to care. Overall - a well priced hotel, offering good clean spacious accommodation - but nothing to entice me back for a second stay I'm afraid.

Room Tip: I would recommend the executive rooms on the 4th floor - v spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a fine hotel. The staff are very friendly. The bar food is tasty and very reasonably priced. I had a toasted ham & cheese sandwich with chips for less than €6.

The beds are large and comfortable. The bathroom spacious and spotless.

There's a bus stop immediately outside the hotel. Taxis are €10.

Well worth a visit if staying in Galway

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timfinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $87 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing