We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel & Enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spend two nights at the Clayton Hotel. Very nice modern hotel and would be happy to stay there again. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the beds are Excellent, the most comfortable hotel bed that I have ever slept in. Also the internet connection is very good and is free of charge. The staff are friendly and the whole atmosphere is very pleasing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Group T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    619
    231
    65
    39
See reviews for
440
674
60
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was at this hotel last weekend and the first impression when we entered the lobby was the friendliness of the reception staff they were very professional and friendly at the same time we arrived at 3:30 pm but we still had to wait for our rooms apart from that everything else was up to standard the rooms were spacious and very clean. The room was situated at the front of the hotel and the road was noisey from 12 am as people were coming from the nightclub we had a meal in the restaurant was just ok again the staff were lovely the hotel is outside the town so we had to get taxi's which were pricey if you went into the town twice a day a total of 4 taxi's per day we were told there was a bus outside the hotel but we didn't see any all weekend overall it was a lovely hotel with lovely staff

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the night club as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 963Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The Clayton is situated on the Dublin end of Galway. It would be very convenient if you are working or wanting to stay near Ballybrit. Dont know how convenient it is if you are touring Galway city. The staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. However, the sink plug was not working on my first night which I highlight and disappointingly was not fixed. The barfood was fine if a little pricey. I would advise to request a room NOT on the dual carriage side of the hotel as it gets noisy from early in the morning. All in all a pleasant stay. The nightly pricing is a bit confusing as the rate changes from night to night during the week. I priced the hotel on booking.com and got a better rate than the hotels website.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Brian D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and thank you also for bringing those few niggling problems to my attention. I am always grateful for every piece of business that comes our way no matter what channel it comes through but can I just clarify that we always offer rate parity with other third party sites on our own website. In the case of Booking.com, if you are staying for more than one night a varying degree of discounting applies depending on your length of stay and likewise this is available on our own site as well by choosing the appropriate package. I do hope you will avail of this option the next time you plan on staying.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Understandable why the Clayton won a recent Trip Advisor award. Very clean and spacious rooms but the staff are what make the place. Desk staff extremely friendly, helpful, assisted in arranging a tyre fix, restaurant server was super professional and genuinely friendly.Location for tourist not conducive to seeing town easily, bus required.

Room Tip: Back side away from busy highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here in April 2013

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is really nice and the rooms were very well furbished.

The breakfast buffet was excellent quality also.

My group ate in the hotel bar on one of our nights there. The food was fine, nothing exceptional but totally adequate for bar food.

The prices we paid for two night B&B were also excellent

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are well appointed and a good size. The bar is friendly and inviting also. The bar and restaurant food are both very good. My only little gripe is with the opening hours of the leisure centre which are limited and didn't suit me. The pool closes during the day and at eight at night. Overall though, I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again. Location is very accessible from the South and East.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pxil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and booked in for 3 days. This is a great hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful. On arrival we were immediately upgraded free of charge. THe hotel is nicely situated on the outskirts of Glaway city. It is a 5 minute drive into the heart of Glaway. Unfortunatley my wife was not feeling too well with a viral flu and we could not stay the third day. However the Duty Manager on the day (Aisling) insisted we take a free night's accommodation free of charge when we are next in the area. She did not need to do this but we greatly appreciate the gesture and look forward to staying there again. all in all this is a fantastic hotel with great facilities and the food is good also. the BEST feature of course is the staff too numkeropus to mention but in particular Brenda on Reception, Aisling the Duty Manager and Ian in the bistro/bar who is possibly one of the most friendly people I have ever had the pleasure to meet whilst staying in a hotel.

Room Tip: They are all good so you will be guaranteed a great room anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,063 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,076 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing