We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Mayo
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed for the one night and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

I have to complement the staff on the Front Desk, when I checked in my booking was gone missing but the receptionist went ahead check me in and apologies for the mix-up.

The room as very nice beds were pure comfort and extremely clean.

We ate in the bar and the staff and the service were fist class the staff were very helpful and not thing was any trouble.

Will be back to stay in this lovely hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buletide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    619
    230
    65
    39
See reviews for
440
673
60
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked into the Clayton for myself and my fiancé's anniversary at the start of February. Having emailled the hotel beforehand, Niamh Treacy said she would do what she could to give us an upgrade since it was our anniversary. I didn't hold out much hope but when we were checked in by Stephanie I think, nothing was said but when we got up to our room clearly we had been upgraded! The room was AMAZING! Gorgeous suite with a fantastic large bathroom, really couldn't fault it.
We really didn't take advantage of the many facilities because I got a bad flu on the 2nd day and spent the full day in bed (not a bad thing as the bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable and great selection of tv channels to keep myself occupied! Can't wait to go again to use the gym and pool, quite gutted I didn't get to! Checking out we had a very friendly lady that quickly got us on our way. A bit out of the city centre but the hotel organised a taxi for us and to be honest I know I wouldn't get as good a deal closer to the city with such amenities and lovely rooms. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellekmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have just returned after staying for three nights in the Clayton Hotel. Bedrooms are lovely and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are great, The dinner in the restaurant was lovely. the bus goes from outside hotel to Eyre Square very fast and we had a fabulous dinner in the Spanish Arch Bar. We hope to go back again during summer and take a trip to Aran Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoreenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely hotel, checked in by Stephanie who was very polite and helpful, bar food was nice but bar staff were nt up to speed, beds were very comfortable, pool is okay, nothing special but did us just fine as we only stayed in for an hour with our 3 children, underground car parking is good and lift brings you into hotel which is a plus with 3 children and loads of bags... It was a bit far from the city (4km) for us, but we knew it was outside the city just not that far. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was excellant, lots of variety of food and very tasty and service was very good, we were seated straight away by staff and our tea and coffee order was taken straight away also. We had a few drinks in the foyer at night and the children played away which didnt seem to be a problem. Overall, a very relaxed one night stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 156 facing the industrial park, busy road was slightly noisy but not enough to keep you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babyface04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with hen party staff very friendly beds were the comfiest I've slept in a long time bathroom was spotless never seen one so clean not noisy as I had thought on a main rd food was beautiful :) never reached the leisure centre but overall 10/10 would definitely come back got out second night for an amazing €80 b&b worth it rather than face the 4 hr journey the next day :) thank you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellimary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay here, but my first time to use the pool. The room was fine, and I had dinner in the bar, which was also good.
When went to use the pool, I discovered that the lockers could not be secured - there was even a sign up pointing this out! Even if I had brought my own lock, they could not be closed. There was no hot water in the showers which you are asked to use before entering the pool. There is no machine in which to spin your wet gear dry. I don't think that I'll be using the pool on future visits.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toruairc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed in the Clayton at short notice recently, got a really good price and just as well as It seriously under whelmed as a four star property. I think it is a beautiful and well appointed building even if my bedroom was a pony and trap ride from reception. The service at reception was good but breakfast was poor, self service, lots of dried cooked items, little in the way of customer service or welcome and I was the only person eating - I kicked myself or suing the additional tenner as I would have received a lot better fare n one of the local shopping centres. To e fair they had the best bed I had slept in in such a long time.

Room Tip: Try and get a bedroom in the main block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanIelDMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,054 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,075 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing