We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights last week and it was Fantastic. The staff, the food and the rooms were all 5star. We were staying in a superior suite and it was class. There was a balcony and the room was so spacious. During our meal in the hotel. Two waiters could not do enough for us. Oliver I think was one of them and he was so pleasant and helpful. I will be staying here again.
It is in a great location for sight seeing Galway. We drove into Galway city nearly everyday which it only a few minutes away. There is also a bus stop right across the road from the hotel which takes you to Eyre Square. And Briarhill Shopping centre is across the road for all the ladies in the morning!!! All round great stay. Thank you

Room Tip: Do upgrade. It is worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donegal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just back from a weekend away at the Clayton Hotel and would highly recommend this hotel. Our room on the fourth floor was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Hotel staff were very friendly/attentive and the food in the restaurant and in the bar was lovely! There was plenty of parking - underground car-park. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audphil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was the most modern of hotels that we stayed in on this trip. It was quite convenient since we had a car and there is plenty of parking at the hotel. There is also a bus stop just a few steps away from the hotel that takes you downtown which is a good idea because parking is quite a hassle and expensive in the City Centre. The staff were quite helpful.
The restaurant was pretty mediocre and service in the breakfast room quite slow.
The hotel had a swimming poor and fitness room but both had very limited hours - it closed at 8 p.m. so was of no use to us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked a twin via trivago and got this hotel for €72 with breakfast. The breakfast was the best I have ever had in a hotel, really five star. Rooms were very well appointed and comfortable. The rest. had a great menu with the calories for each meal server plus some gluten free meal. The hotel had a decent pool and sauna but the gym was pretty pathetic. This is teh best value hotel I have stayed in ever!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conmancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This event was amazing from start to finish - excellent fundraiser and highly organized ! Atmosphere was electric and the venue was perfect! Up cashel for the all ireland camogie title. Such an enjoyable night !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here with my fiance for 1 night for valentines day 2013. The hotel was stylish and the staff were very friendly during check in. We stayed in a double room which was very spacious. The bed was amazing and had a pillow top mattress-very hard to get out of the next morning. The bathroom was sleek and chic-small, but with two huge mirrors bothsides definitely made it more spacious. Very nicely decorated room overall. Only fault is our room over looked a busy road and we couldnt open the window due to the noise of traffic, however when it was closed the noice was barely audible. Also we could hear the guests in the rooms beside us quite clearly, but they seemed to be families with small children so a bit of noise is to be expected!
The swimming pool in the hotel was much smaller than the photos on the website show. No jacuzzi which was a big dissappointment for me.
I cant say what the food was like as we didnt order breakfast and we had dinner in a restaurant in the city. However we called room service to ask for more coffee and tea and two wine glasses and they came up to the room in minutes. Very impressed with the staff of this hotel.
Overall the hotel had a very friendly atmosphere-well suited for family breaks. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ill-rate-ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It is such a great pleasure to recommand The Clayton Hotel as a perfect Quality Hotel. all the services start to finsh is brilliant and amazing. This was our second visit to the Clayton while we are enjoying our valentines Day.the first impression starts at the lobby with a plesant smile fast check in service from the receptionist and the Tribe Reastuarant delicious Dinner was combind with very profetional charming waitresse service makes our Romantic Valentines Day very enjoyeble. The hotel is top class for location, food, bed rooms are clean and comfortabel. Breakfast is fabulous and the staff are very helpful everything you need you get on time the extera effort from the staff makes the Clyton hotel Quality of service satisfay and exceeds customer expectations. We Daniel and Abebaye from Galway have strongly recommand the Clayton Hotel as a perfect place with a good Quality service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambasaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,139 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,735 reviews
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $72 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing