We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one night family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“one night family stay”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here with hubby and two kids aged 10 and 7. Hotel lovely clean and found staff extremely helpful and friendly especially a lady on check in .We were booked into family room facing busy motorway but with light sleepers we asked if we could move as noise quite noticeable. The lady at desk so helpful and polite .She organized another room which was ever bigger and nicer than previous. Overall lovely stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: If dont like road noise ask room away from motorway .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    600
    221
    63
    35
See reviews for
422
654
60
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somoya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Got checked in by a very friendly lady behind the reception. The room we were assigned was nice and big and warm (heating had been switched on prior to our arrival). Unfortunately the hotel is situated right next to the main by-pass of Galway and the large sliding doors of the room were not entirely tight. We had to ask to be moved to ensure a good nights sleep. In fairness we were moved to another room without any trouble.
We were issued with one room card only.
We left for a function and returned about 5 hours later. The room was icy cold as the air con is the only source of heat and that turned off once the room card was removed from the slot next to the door to the room.
No insulation at all? It took 30 minutes to get the room to bearable and then we had to leave the air con on all night to ensure we would not be encased in ice and preserved for future generations by morning. The obvious disadvantage of this was the constant loud hum of the air con can throughout the night. Woke me up a few times.
Breakfast and the place grew immensely in my estimation. Very well cooked scrambled egg (i.e. not dried out by over-cooking), bacon, and very friendly staff.
Three out of five for the uncomfortable room. After all, I go to a hotel to sleep - primarily.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night last night and could not say a bad word about the hotel! The room was one of the best I have ever stayed in, it was massive with an interactive television where you can rent movies or play music which there is a lot stored on by genres which was brilliant! The bathroom was also massive and both were spotless! The breakfast was lovely with loads to chose from and the receptionist was very nice and check in & check out were very quick. We will def be back here!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Eat here regularly.Great food. Lovely hotel. Really nice bar man called Shane. Asset to the hotel really nice and friendly. Hotel is in a great location. Bus stop to city right outside. You would not be dissapointed if you stayed in this hotel. Really modern and nice atmosphere. Directly across from Galway racecource. Very close to Galway Clinic.

Room Tip: Spa is located across the road. Beauty emporium Galway. Beside Dunnes Stores
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Most impressed with this hotel, staff are their no. 1 asset.
No shortage of staff, excellent at their job, from morning to night. What most impressed me is the weekend I stayed their was a rally on, but service was the best I've ever seen.
Will definitely be back. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liambourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

have stayed in this hotel many, many times and absolutely love it!!! the rooms are just so nice - nicely decorated, most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, good selection of t.v channels and relaxing power showers, showers in suites are particularily impressive - they are massive and have a big rain dance head

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite for romantic getaway they are well worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cas249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for one night (on a special offer!) as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. When I mentioned this at check-in the receptionist upgraded us to a superior room. The room was lovely - some lovely little extras. We had our dinner in the bar that evening. As a coeliac I was delighted to see the menu marked up with gluten free foods. In saying this one of the starters was being served on focaccia bread which isn't gluten free. The staff were great - really friendly and chatty. Breakfast was self service and there were lots of options. Overall we had a lovely stay and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
4.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,916 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
7.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Property: Clayton Hotel Galway
Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing