We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clayton hotel in Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel many times as a family and were thoroughly impressed by service. However our most recent stay in the second week of July after the Volvo Ocean race was a little disappointing. The check in was rushed and because of this our additional extras were not explained properly and we lost out on a family meal. The staff seem to have lost a little of their sparkle and seemed tired possibly because it was post Volvo. However good service should be inbedded to happen always even if you are having a bad day, especially in the tourism industry as after all this was our only and long awaited holiday. We won't stay again unfortunately.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdelH615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear EdelH615,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I really do appreciate your choice to stay with us several times and I was disappointed to learn that your last visit wasn't as good as it should have been. I have raised the matters you mentioned with the Front Office team and I know they will work hard to ensure we don't omit details like this again. It would be a shame to lose your patronage over such an error and I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to re-build your confidence in the Clayton Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,419 - 1,425 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've stayed here before on business and though location-wise it would not be my first choice for a leisure trip to Galway the prices for more centrally located hotels were very high during the arts festival. Rooms are lovely and spacious, very clean, good beds and bathroom facilities. I particularly liked that the sound proofing seems to be good. This with the high quality carpets on the corridors means that there is little noise disturbance. Reception staff were all very friendly but it seemed to be impossible to get a simple request seen to. There was no reading light on one side of the double bed. We requested one on our first evening as we were leaving to go into town. No lamp on our return. Rang down and requested one again to be told the hotel was full and so no spare lamps available. Asked again the following morning that one be got or an extension lead that would allow one from another part of the room reach the side of the bed. Nothing there on our return that afternoon so asked again. When we returned that night there was a desk lamp and an extension lead rolled up on the dressing table. I thought it weird that it wasn't in place but found out why when I tried to do so myself - the plugs were the wrong kind and so couldn't work! It looked as though someone had just left them there so that when asked if a lamp had been placed in the room they could say it had but no use to us and in fact more than that, really annoying. Bizarrely the sockets on the bed side of the room are different to those on the other side of the room. It is also an irritant that there are no hooks for towels in the bathroom meaning you have to leave them folded so that they are still damp in the morning if you have had a shower the evening before which is most unpleasant. Cannot comment on the food - didn't eat here as too many great places to eat in Galway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Tripadee,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I'm glad when people get in touch with valid criticism as quite often it can help us improve both our service and product. You have raised some legitimate points and I will be discussing these matters with my management team with a view to resolving these minor issues.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Last week we were in Galway and stayed in the Clayton Hotel for three nights.We absolutely loved this hotel. The food was excellent and the staff so friendly and helpful. The location is slightly out of Galway, but there is a bus stop outside the door, so thats very handy- it saves leaving the car in car parking multi storey and paying a lot of money when you finish wandering around the town and having coffee in Quay Street. You could pass a quite a long time just watching the world go by here! The food in the Clayton was very good and the choice excellent. Already looking forward to going back there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandCorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear IrelandCorky,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm delighted that you clearly enjoyed so many aspects of your time spent in the hotel and Galway itself and I look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed for 3 nights last week in July 2012 and were very impressed with this hotel. It may not be in the most scenic location but it makes up for it in every other way. All the staff couldnt be any more helpful. We stayed in an executive room, which was very reasonable for the room you get. Couldnt praise this hotel enough, I never review hotels online, but felt I should after the pleasant experience we had at the Clayton.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Donal G,

Thank you indeed for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm really glad you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I'm glad you decided that your experience with us was good enough to compel you to post some comments. I really do appreciate your recommendation and I hope it won't be too long before we see you here again.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This modern hotel was very clean, bright, and welcoming. Sometimes modern can be a bit cold, but it wasn't here. Rooms were very comfortable and spotless. It is about 15 minutes drive from Eyre Square/Shop Street, but there's bus stop right across the road. It was 1.70 Euro to take the bus or about 11 Euro for a taxi. The desk staff was very helpful and even had a copy of the bus route page for us with the hotel stop marked so we knew where to get off. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room away from the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EP_AlwaysOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear EGranger,

Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay in the Clayton Hotel. I'm glad that we managed to exceed your expectations. The entire team here at the hotel work very hard to ensure all our guests experience that same hospitable welcome each and every time they stay and it's great to get some acknowledgement of the excellent job they do.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hi just to let people thinking of staying in Galway /Lenane Area you would be mad not to pick clayton hotel for your stay.we stayed 3nites bb one dinner for family of 4 , it worked out at 390euro for the stay including a game of bowling in local oranmore. The overall hotel is well suited as we stayed in Galway bay hotel before and value for money and with excellent staff and food to die for there is no better,,so next time your thinking of a short stay and only two hours from Dublin think no further . Best of look clayton hotel and cheers to your next five years in Galway . Paul room 153 as of 18 July.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAXIBLOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear TAXIBLOG,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay in the Clayton hotel and your wholehearted recommendation. I really do appreciate your kind words and I really do hope it won't be too long before you are back to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nice hotel but was like trying to sleep beside a race track. We stayed 1 night and would not go back based on this experience. Our room was looking out on the main dual carriage way and the noise in the room was very bad. Neither of us slept more than an hour with the noise coming from the road. If you are staying here make sure you ask not to be on the dual carriage side as its impossible to sleep with the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vigor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton-GM, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear vigor1,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. I'm sorry your one night with us wasn't as good as you had hoped and that you were disturbed by the traffic noise. This is something we are working to eliminate entirely. At present only a small number of rooms are affected and then even at that for a lot of people it isn't an issue once the windows are kept shut. At the same time though I am conscious this is a problem for some people and we are working through these rooms one by one and I am confident that shortly we will resolve this issue. In the meantime if you were to return, because you are aware of the traffic, we could allocate you a room on the inside of the hotel.

Kind regards

Rory Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
378 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#10 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $88 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing