We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant evening”

Park House Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $37
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The food and service here is really good and it's a very comfortable dining room. There were eight of us in our party and all the food arrived in a timely way and was really really tastey. The staff could not have been more helpful and efficient. Oh and the wine list is top notch. Enjoy it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    74
    41
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food at decent price”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Whilst visiting relatives in the Galway area, they brought me to this restaurant within the hotel. Hotel foyer and entrance/bar area was very pleasant and the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. The service was good, however there was one eastern European waitress who lacked any finesse. The rest of the staff were very good if a little thinly spread to cater for all the tables, and at times had to wait some time to attract their attention. The food and wine was all good, although they did not have the wine I wanted and did not offer an alternative, which I would have expected. €300 for 5 adults and three courses with 4 bottles of wine

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Convenience of hotel dining with good standard menu”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This does well as what it is, sort of like nice dining out with our grandparents. It doesn't come across as having a confused self image. Nothing trendy or chic here, but a nicely diverse and comforting menu with a fresh take on details and presentations. Huge portions, nice quality food and preparation. We stayed at the hotel and ate 2 dinners, a lunch and two breakfasts. Service was a bit slow at dinner. Only complaint was that breakfast service only begins at 7 which is late but okay except the fresh bakery items weren't to be ready until at least 7:30 or later. Too late for our 8 a.m. pick-ups. Thoughtful staff provided a take away of bakery as we were departing.Thanks!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mp s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Old fashioned hotel with outdated menu”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived in Galway late in the day, and after checking into the hotel (Park House), we elected to have a drink at their bar and eat at the restaurant at the hotel. The service was a bit stiff and old fashioned, and the menu was rather outdated. Since the restaurant had received good reviews on Trip Advisor, we selected it. My food was adequate, but not exceptional by any means. My wife's dinner was so overcooked she was unable to eat it (at least they did not charge us for her dinner). There are many other better options in Galway.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallahassee-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An average meal”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had just arrived in Galway and took a little walk downtown. The menu in the window looked pretty good, so we went on in. The restaurant opens to the street, but is part of the Park Hotel. The food quality was good and the portions, generous. It was rather dark inside a standard restaurant atmosphere. Nothing to write home about.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BozemanDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park House Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Park House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing