We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Views with Rainbows”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Sleeps 2 - 10 people
Full Kitchen
Sleeps 2 - 10 people
Sleeps 2 - 10 people
Sleeps 2 - 10 people
Sleeps 2 - 10 people
Sleeps 2 - 10 people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TOG190
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Views with Rainbows”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cottage is clean, comfortable with amazing views of Lough Mask (a beautiful large lake) and gentle rolling hills dotted with sheep and cattle. It is in the town of Clonbur, which is lovely with two very good restaurants. There's also a grocery store with good pricing. We certainly enjoyed the cottage, but we are from Naples, Florida and Hurricane Irma had us preoccupied, so much so that we found out we needed to get back to take care of properties in Everglades City. So instead of the month, we stayed only a week. But God showed us promise. Each day when we got up, looking outside, we saw the most beautiful rainbows over the hills!

My only request would be Wi-Fi (the one in the cottage didn't work) and I'm sorry to say, a TV would be helpful. The reason? We were unable to stay fully connected to what was happening in not only the world, but our little corner in Florida.

The bottom line is that we had a good time, even with our state-side concerns. The Irish people are truly wonderful! Loved all the sheep.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2017
Hello folks, please read all new reviews of banbahouse on trip advisor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules_O_3...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect location and a spectacular house for a family group”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2015
7
people found this review helpful

Never begin a speech or meeting with a apology.

I must apologize for my lengthy delay in reviewing Station House, Athenry. Station House is a lovely property that was absolutely perfect for us during our stay. We felt at home the minute we walked up the path and met the property owners. Chris was welcoming, delightful and most helpful.

We were presented with a home made guide book with all sorts of very useful information, such as the trains schedule, activity ideas, cab number, Athenry City information and take away menus. All details and information presented were well thought out.

Station House itself is quite spacious. Everything is updated. The Wi-Fi worked throughout the house. Cable television made the teenager in our group quite happy. There is a kitchen for cooking and a grill outside. The yard is nice and there is room for car parking if you have a vehicle. Bedrooms were large and comfortable. Despite being across the street from the train, we only heard the train whistle once.

Station House is close to everything in Athenry Center, including restaurants, many of which are open late, pubs, cafes, the grocery. This is really a great property at a tremendous value in an excellent location. We highly recommend it.

We received our security deposit refund on our last day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt so at home at Station House. So perfect for our group.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
Hello Jules, what a lovely group of people you brought to stay with us for your Galway visit. Its really encouraging for us to read your kind review . The house is getting better and better and with our recent work and new windows fitted its even quieter tand cosier than before. As you say we are just a couple of minutes from the restaurants and pubs, so people love staying here... We hope to see you again sometime. regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine R
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, hassle free.”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with a large group of friends over New Years. We were originally looking for somewhere in Galway but left it too late to book and everything was gone. However the train ride into the city from Athenry was nice and short and the house is literally a few steps from the station. Ray gave us a number for a really helpful taxi who got us home even in the chaos of New Years. Everything with the house was perfect, and the owners very easy to deal with and hassle free. My only reason for 4 out of 5 is that the overall price including deposit was a little heavy in my opinion, it amounted to almost €2k for just two nights stay, but to be fair almost everywhere hikes the prices for new years. Over all, very happy.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2016
Hello Blaine and thanks for the great review. We were very happy with the fact that you and your group left the house in absolutely perfect condition on your departure and indeed we refunded your rather hefty deposit back to you full as promised. At festival times we do hike our deposits to a level where we feel comfortable that a larger group size such as your own, will take perfect care of our beautiful home. We would be happy to have you and your group back any time in the future.. Hope to see you again sometime soon, kind regards. Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBC5248
New Milford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We recently spent two weeks here. The location, house ,Athenry was perfect! The house is newly renovated and is spotless. It was very comfortable and within walking distance to everything. We were happy to come " home" after a day exploring. The town of Athenry was more than welcoming and we loved meeting the local people, who were very welcoming and friendly. Ray was efficient and helpful in answering any questions we had, would highly recommend Station House.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2016
Ah thank you JB so much for your kind words, we were delighted to have you stay at banbahouse.com and with all our new upgrades happening as I write we are delighted as we look forward to a very positive interesting and eventful 2016 season. Hope to see you all again soon, thank you for taking the time to visit us a Banba House. Kind regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
13
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in May and had a fabulous time. House is a perfect base to see Galway.
House itself has everything brand new. Is spotless, stayed as a family, has internet connection, so you can still be in touch with everything. There are many restaurants and bars in the area if you don't fancy cooking.
Would recommend this beautiful house .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2016
Ah thank you Caroline so much for your kind words, we were delighted to have you stay at banbahouse.com and with all our new upgrades happening as I write we are delighted as we look forward to a very positive interesting and eventful 2016 season. Hope to see you all again soon, thank you for taking the time to visit us a Banba House. Kind regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing