We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar

Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #73 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We at Vina Mara are dedicated to providing a friendly dining experience in Galway. All our menus are created using fresh Irish produce and an excellent selection of wines. Our aim is to create great food at great value prices and a warm friendly service for all of our customers. We are open Monday to Saturday for lunch and dinner. On Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday evening all our main courses are just €10. Great quality, great service, great value.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Tucked away, just off the main throughfare in Middle Street. My two mates and I stumbled upon Vina Mara. Fantastic menu options with 2 / 3 course early bird menu for €20/€25ish until 7pm on a Saturday. We hadnt booked but the hostess managed to get us a table in the bar. Food (steak&venison) was lovely, well presented and portions where perfect. Gluten free bread and other options! Chowder was lush. Highly recommended for an evening meal. Find It!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    140
    42
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wish I lived in galway just to eat here!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Fab atmosphere in a very busy restaurant but despite how busy they were we were very well looked after!!food was top notch, honestly nothing I can write can do it justice and try there New Zealand wine, can't remember the name something brook but lovely. My husband had steak and is still talking about it, I had the chicken and thoroughly enjoyed it. All I have to say is go go go there, you won't regret it. I recommend booking for any night of the week you'd like to go there after talking to the staff there!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillygilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food service value,i really enjoyed our night there,cant wait to go back again.Best resteraunt ive been to in years

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The most amazing food I've ever tasted. From start to finish we thoroughly enjoyed every part of the meal. The staff were so friendly. I'm having withdrawal symptoms, would love to go back ASAP!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A definite must for a meal when in Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to Vina Mara with the first visit being a few years ago following a recommendation from a friend.
The food was excellent the first time so on our return visit to Galway, we went to go and book a table. The food is superb as is the service and surprisingly there is a special offer on most weekdays with all main courses being just 10 euros. Sometimes with these offers, you think the portion size may be smaller but this was not the case and we don't know how Vina Mara can provide their lovely main courses for that price as quality is definitely not compromised by the offer. No wonder the restaurant was full to bursting.

A definite must try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SootyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Vina Mara Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing