We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good.......despite grumpy service!”
Review of Ard Bia at Nimmo's

Ard Bia at Nimmo's
Ranked #10 of 484 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: One of Galway's most enduring restaurants, housed in one of the city's most iconic restaurant spaces, Ard Bia has always placed as much emphasis on community experiences and aesthetic stimulation as on serving great food in a fun environment. We believe in having roots in a place whilst having an identity that transcends location and takes inspiration from around the world.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good.......despite grumpy service!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

The popularity of Ard Bia in Galway indicates something: it's good! I enjoyed a very nice brunch there recently. The food is good and the atmosphere is pleasant. One can overlook the grumpy attitude of the female members of the staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fionn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,034
    312
    88
    56
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good grub but service gliches”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Excelent location beside spanish arch on pierside {nimmos pier} Very Quaint French countryside decor .This is attractive. The menu is appetising and food when it arrives can be good.
Dont be afraid of being put upstairs there are enough staff.
they can,it seems,mix up the orders.A most attractive couple who arrived after my wife and I seemed to be served with exactly the same order as we had chosen about ten minutes before ours arrived .This was some sort of mistake ,as they rejected the order and it went down stairs again.Their new order arrived and shortly later ours arrived, but both our orders were hopelessly cold.
To be fair when I was able to bring the matter to staff attention my wifes toasted sandwich was subsequently replaced.
When the bill is brought you are asked to come up to the till to pay rather than the usual way.The till can be at the other end of the restaurant.
This records my second visit.
On the first visit a friend and I were seated downstairs at a window table near the kitchen servery. Again the menu was good and the food did come quickly . the order was right hot and tasty .
There was a delay in paying the bill,also

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alvisDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Nice ...pay a visit”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

excellent staff and excellent food, great place for a brunch and meet v. friendly staff. Definitely give this place a visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MossyMossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“One of the better In Galway”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

Three couples went here at the recommendation of our hotel. We were placed in a section of our Own great service great food mussels lamb trout and steak no one was disappointed. All rated dinner and service top notch try it you will like it

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little place hidden away near the Spanish Arch”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a wonderful light lunch here - the atmosphere was great, the place cute and cozy and the food beautifully prepared, really fresh and delicious. Fairly reasonably priced for what it was.....

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lori397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ard Bia at Nimmo's also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Ard Bia at Nimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing