We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local dining at it's best”
Review of Ard Bia at Nimmo's

Ard Bia at Nimmo's
Ranked #10 of 469 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: One of Galway's most enduring restaurants, housed in one of the city's most iconic restaurant spaces, Ard Bia has always placed as much emphasis on community experiences and aesthetic stimulation as on serving great food in a fun environment. We believe in having roots in a place whilst having an identity that transcends location and takes inspiration from around the world.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local dining at it's best”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Super accommodating, as we had to change the time of our reservation 2x. We had a corner table that was the perfect spot for our family to wrap up our wonderful trip. The food was delicious due to the local and seasonal ingredients.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    986
    302
    85
    55
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing local food by local folks”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent chef; locally sourced wholesome food; and a fantastic atmosphere. One of the very best in Galway (and that is saying quite a lot).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorgebruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place for cosy glass of wine”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I love this little Galway gem! I used to come here often for a nice glass of wine on rainy evenings (all too common in Galway). The food is delicious and they seem to change the menu fairly frequently keeping things fresh and seasonal. I highly recommend this spot. Nice spot right on the Corrib River.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjmegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Outstanding intimate restaurant near the Spanish Arch in Galway. Incredible eclectic menu with outstanding seafood, and unique offerings. Great service and attention to detail in a quiet , intimate restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and wine”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We dropped into this little hideaway restaurant only to be offered the most delightful array of wines and fine food - we stayed in the Herons Rest Boutique B&B close by and we really delighted with everything on offer , no complaints - definitely will return

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanssoucis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ard Bia at Nimmo's also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Ard Bia at Nimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing