We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hipster vibe, great mains, less great for sweet stuff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ard Bia at Nimmo's

Ard Bia at Nimmo's
Ranked #13 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of Galway's most enduring restaurants, housed in one of the city's most iconic restaurant spaces, Ard Bia has always placed as much emphasis on community experiences and aesthetic stimulation as on serving great food in a fun environment. We believe in having roots in a place whilst having an identity that transcends location and takes inspiration from around the world.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hipster vibe, great mains, less great for sweet stuff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a bit off-beat - shabby-chic vibe which is great if you are after a very relaxed night out. The service is a bit hit and miss - all very hipster-cool and reasonably swift, but more day-time cafe than evening fine-dining - 'you're sorted for carbs' is a new way to be told a dish doesn't need a side of spuds...at least I hope that wasn't an observation on my size! Our party of four each had really excellent main courses - all very clever flavour/ingredient combinations, and some really good fish. The puddings read really well - very on-trend in an Ottolenghi-ish rose-water, sumac and pistachio sort of way - but alas they weren't quite as full of exotic promise as we expected...

Reasonably good value, but no bargain price-wise. Worth a visit if you want a chilled out night and great mains. We would eat here again, but might just skip the dessert.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    293
    82
    54
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Food good on some days as it the friendliness of the staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Food good on first occasion, it was average for the next couple of visits. The staff were very friendly initially but were quite dismissive on other occasions. The delivery of food takes sometime, you can be left waiting up to twenty minutes. Its a tiny restaurant and its a lovely interior the only issue I would have it that a lot of mothers with huge buggies are cramped into the restaurant and it make it a very cramped space in which to eat in. It might be different at night but on one occasion there were four buggies at tables, this might be the target market at lunch time so its not really a relaxing space for business or office workers. The price is very good value for the food that is offered. The food is generally of high standard, but on certain days its like the end of the pot what is served. They serve good freshly made juices but do not strain the so there is a lot of pulp in the juices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susancc737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I want to eat here every day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

While the food in the SW & W of Ireland is consistently remarkable - filled with fresh seafood & vegetables - there are some really special places like this. Great vibe & ambience in a remarkable setting. We were lucky enough to get a dinner reservation and everything from bread to coffee & dessert was amazing. Some it was simple comfort stews, others intricate flavors and sauces, fabulous salads, but the baked goods are amazing. Don't miss this foodie gem along the river.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Discovered this great place by chance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

If in Galway, seek this place out. Food is excellent and the quantities very generous; you may need to take some home to finish later. A lovely relaxed atmosphere, with excellent service. Have been three times recently when visiting Galway and could not recommend enough. Bought the cookery book and have not been disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tuscansunsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“so disappointed about the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

i searched from the internet for the good restaurants in galway and i saw many good review of Ard Bia so i went there for dinner with friends. the price is quite expensive, the atmosphere is quite special and small, we really expected that we could hv a nice meal experience here but to be honest we were so disappinted. my friend ordered a medium to well done steak but they gave her a steak with fresh blood inside which was like medium rare! the worst thing is the service, the waiter did not even asked me how i would like to cook the venison and then gave me a medium rare which is i cant accepted at all and i hv to give it back to the chef to cook it again. btw it was the slowest dinner i'v ever had! the waiters was like ignoring us, we had been waiting abt 30mins for the desserts ordering after they clean the main course plates. i dont think i would come to this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ard Bia at Nimmo's also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Ard Bia at Nimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing