We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ard Bia at Nimmo's

Ard Bia at Nimmo's
Ranked #11 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of Galway's most enduring restaurants, housed in one of the city's most iconic restaurant spaces, Ard Bia has always placed as much emphasis on community experiences and aesthetic stimulation as on serving great food in a fun environment. We believe in having roots in a place whilst having an identity that transcends location and takes inspiration from around the world.
Inishbofin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked this restaurant as a treat for my girlfriend last Sunday evening and a treat it turned out to be. The atmosphere is relaxed and cosy, the choice of music, the efficiency of the staff and to top the list, the excellent food made it the perfect evening.

I can understand why some reviewers might feel it is cramped etc. but I prefer the term cosy, as it is a small intimate eatery with an atmosphere to match. I suppose this suits some people but not all. As for prices I was very happy to pay reasonable prices for exceptionally good food. McDonald's is bigger and cheaper if that is what you like!

We both work or have worked in the catering/hospitality business and could find no fault with Ard Bia. Far from it in fact as my girlfriend loved it and has put it in her top 5 restaurants and she knows her restaurants.
Well done to all there for doing a great job.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doonmore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    914
    293
    82
    54
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Lovely restaurant down by the Spanish Arch. It is across from a lovely cafe where we had breakfast the same day called Kitchen, which I would also highly recommend.
We visited Ard Bia at 3.30 on a Thursday afternoon, it wasn't very busy which was a bonus.The staff are very friendly and easy going. My sister had the dahl and I had the pork burger with wedges. Both delicious dishes which were promptly devoured. Very tasty food, loads of options for vegans and veggie lovers. Two main courses for 17euro. Would recommend this and will DEFINITELY be back again on my next trip to Galway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maeve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service and location but not food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The restaurant is lovely, situated by the water with beautiful views both inside and out! The service was great, unbelievably friendly and helpful waiting staff. The food was nice but it didn't wow me.. the duck starter for example was lovely but a few tiny slivers of duck were not enough. I think it is a restaurant with so much potential to be Galway's best it just needs to find a way to wow the crowd!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
586 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Very very fine indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We çertainly enjoyed our meal here on a summer evening. The lemon marinated duck breast was flavourful, the local mussels distinctive and tasty with chorizo. enjoyed the white Italian wine ciu ciu by the glass. Main courses were a huge sirloin of Irish provenance and ultra tender and yummy lamb well sauced. Excellent potatoes.
Liked the red ciu ciu italian san giovese as well in carafe. Cheese course frankly not to be missed. World class...
Rhubarb dessert fine.
Total
127€ for two.
Service: no complaints whatsoever.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Situated by the water, this restaurant is a extraordinary way to end the day. Without mentioning the food, the staff were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and attentive. The building is stunning with rustic tables and your nan's favourite China to eat from. The food is the real star of the show.
In Galway already? You should be eating here on every special occasion.
Not in Galway? Make this your crowning reason to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielRT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ard Bia at Nimmo's also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Ard Bia at Nimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing