We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and excellent food”
Review of Ard Bia at Nimmo's

Ard Bia at Nimmo's
Ranked #9 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: One of Galway's most enduring restaurants, housed in one of the city's most iconic restaurant spaces, Ard Bia has always placed as much emphasis on community experiences and aesthetic stimulation as on serving great food in a fun environment. We believe in having roots in a place whilst having an identity that transcends location and takes inspiration from around the world.
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and excellent food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent meal here, the seafood in particular was superb. The setting is quite rustic and cosy whilst the atmosphere and staff were particularly welcoming, I would certainly re-visit on my next visit to Galway.

Helpful?
Thank MontyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    306
    86
    56
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a let down.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was one of a large party of guests invited to this restaurant .A private room was reserved for the night upstairs.On arrival the restaurant appeared busy downstairs,when we went upstairs we were squashed into half the room with hardly room to move our elbows.Two other couples sat at the other tables.There was one waiter to serve everybody food and wine.He served the other couples first.Our meal was booked for 19.00 hrs ,the wine order was taken at 19.30 hours and the tea and coffee finally arrived at 22.15 hrs.Their motto is certainly not ........ service with a smile....Both the waiter and manageress were quite rude to us,so much so that we asked for an apology.Food average and overpriced.I will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have wanted to go to this restuarant having heard about their awards for quite some time and recently I was invited along with a party of 25 ladies, we had the entire upstairs reserved for our meal and were assured that no one else would be dining there. On the night they seated 2 more couples with us, one of which I believe complained about us being too noisy; 25 chattering ladies, what did they expect? The manageress marched into our area, told us this level of noise was not acceptable in their restuarant and "perhaps we could save it for the bar later", so insulting???? If that wasn't bad enough the waiter who served our table would have won prizes on his own in the art of rudeness. The table was poorly laid out and when we asked for butter for the baskets of brown bread that were left down, he was visibly put out and arrived back some time later with enough butter to cover one slice of bread. Later a lady asked him for a bottle of sparkling water and she was told she could wait until he had finished serving the wine, another lady asked for a cappucino and he rolled his eyes at her and made the "tsk"sound, she pointed out to him that his behaviour was rude and he actually challenged her on it and told her that he hadn't been rude. Our pots of tea were served, but we were waiting at least 10 minutes or so for the cups, some of us are still waiting!!! This restuarant may have won awards for its cuisine but perhaps they should equally concentrate and put a lot more effort into dealing with the public and working on service with a smile. So, so disappointing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Found it to be very quaint and had a very interesting and unique menu especially compared to the other restaurants in the area. We thoroughly our meal and would highly recommend it to anyone!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitetraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“diamond of a place”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We found this little stone cafe by the Spanish Arch by complete chance and wandered in. Immediately loved the laid back atmosphere and creative menu. I had a real hankering for some seafood chowder, which wasn't on the menu, but I asked the waitress if there was any chance of it and lo and behold she got the kitchen to make a gorgeous mixed seafood chowder & wheaten bread for me! Brilliant service, great food and very cool spot - will definitely be back next time we're in Galway

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ard Bia at Nimmo's also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Ard Bia at Nimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing