We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best spots in galway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ard Bia at Nimmo's

Ard Bia at Nimmo's
Ranked #13 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of Galway's most enduring restaurants, housed in one of the city's most iconic restaurant spaces, Ard Bia has always placed as much emphasis on community experiences and aesthetic stimulation as on serving great food in a fun environment. We believe in having roots in a place whilst having an identity that transcends location and takes inspiration from around the world.
galway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one of the best spots in galway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

this little spot does a great selection of freshly prepared dishes. the service is friendly and informative. the only qualm i have with it is that sometimes it can be a little grubby, i do wish they would cover up the fresh baked goods too. but the taste is always top notch and the view of the river is a added bonus.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mags h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    293
    82
    54
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cozy on the Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went here for breakfast our first day in Galway. The building is ancient and the tables are tucked in to the nooks and crannies. Your're right on the bay. The food was good and the atmosphere priceless.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank subienj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosiest comfiest place in Galway and the food....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stumbled upon this place during a recent weekend in Galway. We were there for brunch and had two americanos, the pancakes, and granola. Such simple words for such gastronomic euphoria inducing delights. Let's start with the coffee. Badger and Dodo- the best coffee in Ireland. One of the few Irish roasters too. Enough about that- the americanos were delivered very quickly, nice and hot, and strong. Shortly after our brunches arrived, and what a brunch. The house made granola is so full of flavor, crunchy, and just sweet enough. The yoghurt was also tasty and the portion size was ideal. My boyfriend's pancakes were the real winner though. Zesty and filled with rose and pecan yoghurt. I'd never had rose yoghurt. It was exquisite. Now to the service- super friendly, efficient, and quick. They were warm and welcoming. We went back the following day, but too early for brunch, so we had a scone and coffee again. The scones were the best scones I have ever had- hands down. Again we were greeted warmly and treated very well.
Should I mention the sacred drawer? I'll just leave that for you to discover. ;)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go here every time you're in Galway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I love this place. Delicious food, great value and the staff are fantastic. The setting is like being in your grandmother's kitchen (if she was training to be a Michelan star chef.)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diarmuid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you don't eat here, you've done yourself a tremendous disservice. Best meal I had in Ireland, and among the best i've had in general. Staff could be a bit friendlier... but the food more than makes up for it and very nice casual/homestyle setting makes it even better.

All food locally sourced and we had a party of 5 with many different dishes - each was amazing.
Eat here!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ard Bia at Nimmo's also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Ard Bia at Nimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing