We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB FOOD”
Review of Ard Bia at Nimmo's

Ard Bia at Nimmo's
Ranked #9 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: One of Galway's most enduring restaurants, housed in one of the city's most iconic restaurant spaces, Ard Bia has always placed as much emphasis on community experiences and aesthetic stimulation as on serving great food in a fun environment. We believe in having roots in a place whilst having an identity that transcends location and takes inspiration from around the world.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FAB FOOD”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It's wonderfully refreshing to find a restaurant that serves really good food that is locally sourced. When eating out we have many choices of restaurants but seldom do we experience the opportunity to tickle our taste-buds. This is a really busy restaurant, advisable to book in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manganga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    306
    86
    56
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect little cafe”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I wish there were more places like this! Perfect atmosphere ad cakes.capuccino, wine, prosecco or tea with a perfect view

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alice19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat in Ireland”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love this restaurant because the staff are charming and friendly (not like a they are trained to be ) but because they are. The food is always good.

Locally sourced foods, so the menu changes from day to day. full of nooks and crannies - it was even better when Harriot had the place - but don't miss it -.unless you like corporate places to stay.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FeargalT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab Night”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

In a previous review I described Kirwan's Lane as probably the best restaurant in Galway but after a super meal in Nimmo's on Saturday night I think this will closely rival it. I dined in a group of four upstairs and we all really enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the place itself. It's a pretty quirky little place and the staff were so nice. We had four different starters and for mains two steaks, one brill and one lobster - all delicious. A good wine list, all pretty reasonable and overall I would highly recommend it. Go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules32033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yes!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Nyum nyum nyum! Food awesome! Staff cool and friendly, I asked a waiter the recipe of a seed dip they make for their bread and he happily rhymed it off for me. I can't wait to return. Atmosphere beautiful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sineadthegrenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ard Bia at Nimmo's also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Ard Bia at Nimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing