We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch - excellent”

White Gables Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 503 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $59
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving the Galway community for over twenty years, White Gables specialises in traditional cooking with a modern flair. Visitors to this atmospheric restaurant are guaranteed the greatest experience in every way: service, comfort, hospitality and plenty of good classically cooked sumptuous food. Mains include grilled rib-eye steak with pepper sauce, or, one of the most popular dishes on the menu, traditional lip-smacking crispy roast half duckling with orange sauce. Fish is also a speciality here with timeless classics featuring such as, Sole on the Bone, Scallops Mornay and many other favourites, depending on market availability. Wines are hand-picked by Ann herself with choices to suit every pocket, and a great selection of half bottles too. Prices are matched to suit all budgets. A set menu is available every evening, with plenty of choice and two courses cost just €30 per person, with four courses at €38 per person. A la Carte dining is also an option. Located in Moycullen, 8km from Galway, White Gables Restaurant , Enjoy…from White Gables food shop and Enjoy…More cafe were established by Anne and Kevin Dunne, in a cottage dating back to the 1920s. White Gables is recommended by Good Food Ireland, Bridgestone Guides, Georgina Campbell’s Ireland and Lucinda O’Sullivan’s Little Black Book.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a delicious Sunday lunch here recently. We arrived late, had no booking and were immediately shown to a table, the atmosphere was great a real buzz. The staff were excellent and efficient, the food was delicious and wonderfully presented. One of us had the fish and it was cooked to perfection and I had the roast beef it was melt in the mouth, Well done to all concerned and we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bawnogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

It is encouraging to read such positive comments on our efforts here at White Gables. We all respect the time it takes for you to review us here- thank you sincerely.
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 203 of 341 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

As a family of four (2 adults, 2 children) we called in for a bite of lunch and we're glad we did. Nice buzz of an atmosphere, quirky decor ( loved the framed tea-towels adorning the walls), waiting staff friendly and efficient. Lovely home-made produce ranging from pizza, panini's, toasted sandwiches, salads, desserts and pastries. My husband and I had the warm turkey wraps with a delicious chutney - yum! Eldest son had tasty sandwich and youngest had pancakes which he devoured. We couldn't resist going into the gourmet food shop to take a few home baked goods away with us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cazmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Lovely to see you enjoyed your time with us here. Come back soon.
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were very late for our reservation, yet Anne greeted us warmly and said she would have waited had we been even later.

Service was superb and the food was amazing!

It is a bit of a drive from Galway city, but well worth it!

1  Thank WonderlustTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit, and found us worth the drive.
Come back again soon
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We visited the White Gables on Friday evening to celebrate a 9th birthday, and all of us had a wonderful evening. The food was absolutely amazing, and Ann ensured that the Birthday Girl was made to feel very special!

Starters were Lobster Cocktail, Crab Claws and Deep Fried Brie, all of which were excellent. The Birthday Girl followed up with Rib Eye Steak (perfectly sized for a 9 year old), two of us had the Rib Eye of Veal which was really tender and delicious, and the others had Turbot and Black Sole, which were also pronounced delicious. Portions were so generous that we were not able for dessert, but a ‘Happy 9th Birthday’ plate arrived for Beth with ice-cream, gingerbread girl, chocolate and candles, making her evening complete!

We had a fantastic time, and all 5 of us agreed that we will be back to celebrate the next occasion. Thank you so much Ann, Kevin and team for a very special evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clairec13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thrilled that the evening was a success – we try to make everyone feel special.
Come back again soon
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Found this little gem of a restaurant just outside Galway. I just could not believe the quality of the food on offer, I had smoked black pudding with scallops, followed by grilled rib eye of veal; that cut like butter. I then washed it down with fresh fruit pavlova and homemade strawberry ice cream. The food was that good that I returned to their adjoining cafe next door for breakfast the following day and purchased some treats to take home with me from their shop; including their own White Gables brown bread, which had been served at the dinner table.
Lovely rustic decor with friendly staff, do not miss the opportunity to experience this restaurant if you are in the area - definitely returning in the future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 309MrsKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Delighted you found us and took the time to tell everyone here. We really do appreciate the effort you made.
Hope to see you back again soon
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Gables Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to White Gables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing