We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Emerald Isle”

White Gables Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 503 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $59
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Serving the Galway community for over twenty years, White Gables specialises in traditional cooking with a modern flair. Visitors to this atmospheric restaurant are guaranteed the greatest experience in every way: service, comfort, hospitality and plenty of good classically cooked sumptuous food. Mains include grilled rib-eye steak with pepper sauce, or, one of the most popular dishes on the menu, traditional lip-smacking crispy roast half duckling with orange sauce. Fish is also a speciality here with timeless classics featuring such as, Sole on the Bone, Scallops Mornay and many other favourites, depending on market availability. Wines are hand-picked by Ann herself with choices to suit every pocket, and a great selection of half bottles too. Prices are matched to suit all budgets. A set menu is available every evening, with plenty of choice and two courses cost just €30 per person, with four courses at €38 per person. A la Carte dining is also an option. Located in Moycullen, 8km from Galway, White Gables Restaurant , Enjoy…from White Gables food shop and Enjoy…More cafe were established by Anne and Kevin Dunne, in a cottage dating back to the 1920s. White Gables is recommended by Good Food Ireland, Bridgestone Guides, Georgina Campbell’s Ireland and Lucinda O’Sullivan’s Little Black Book.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent our last night on the Emerald Isle at the White Gables restaurant. It was a perfect end to a wonderful trip. We were welcomed by friendly staff to enjoy a cocktail in the cozy bar area while we unwound and read through the menu and wine list. After placing our order for dinner we were led to the elegant dining room and seated at a comfortable table. The dining room was a comfortable environment perfect for a romantic evening or a simple family dinner. The food was perfect and the timing of the service was impeccable. We would highly recommend the White Gables restaurant as a must do for any trip to Ireland.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aapostolik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Delighted that we have been able to give you lasting memories of your vacation. It’s what awe like to do! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience – remember to come back and visit again.
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 341 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

superb food and service. wonderful staff, lovely ambience. Do try the Duck......delicous.
This restaurant which is owned and run by husband and wife team offers service, value and a warm welcome to superb food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you Paul for taking the time for review our restaurant.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to White Gables, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Driving back from Oughterard this afternoon was rather miserable with the driving wind and rain. I decided to stop in to the White Gables Coffee shop for lunch. There is a delightful little shop with a cosy coffee shop next door. Shelves of delicious freshly made breads, cakes and scones looked delicious and very tempting. I walked through into the coffee shop/tea rooms which is very pretty with a very pleasing, calming decor and such a lovely welcome from staff. I ordered the vegetable soup which was served in a colourful bowl with 2 slices of delicious fresh homemade brown bread. There were tasteful extras and attention to detail everywhere I looked. A lacey doyley on the serving plate;a colourful, richly decorated serviette; colourful crockery; wonderfully decorated cupcakes and cakes in a glass display case at the til. Despite there being only one girl on the counter/til she was very pleasant, efficient and provided a very fast service. After the delicious soup I decided to add the White Gables to my hot chocolate quest and got a hot chocolate 'to go'. It was presented nicely with little marshmallows and nice frothy top. However, it had a rather weak consistency which I did not enjoy. I would grade it 4/10. I will definately recommend the White Gables Coffee Shop to my friends and I will visit again for lunch. The attached White Gables Restaurant is one of my top restaurants in Galway. Ann is such a professional and the food and service excellent. A 'must visit' restaurant to all of you who have not had the pleasure of visiting the White Gables Restaurant in Moycullen. :-))

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MariaGalwayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Maria, you have taken a lot of time to review your experience with us recently and for that we are truly thankful.

I have noted your point on the hot chocolate, and will look into it immediately. Continuous improvement is what we aim for, and by you pointing out this issue it helps is strive for excellence in our product.

Thanks again - Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Do not know how Ann never fails to get 5 Stars for the meals served at White Gables. Was there last night and it was superb. Excellent selection of Starters, Mains and Deserts and all for €38.50. The Duck and Lemon Sole were out of this world. White Gables never fails to satisfy and great value for money. Gerry Dublin

Thank gakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Gerry ,
Thank you for this great review!
Look forward to seeing you both when next in the West !
-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great food always, staff highly trained to give a great experience. Never had a bad meal in 15 years

1  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Dunne-WG, Owner at White Gables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

There you go.. you should work on our marketing team!
Thank you for the review, we all appreciate it.
Come back soon - Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Gables Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to White Gables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing