We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location Outside the City Center”
Review of Consilio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Consilio
Ranked #31 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Staff - Stella was delightful and very friendly

Service - excellent

Room - keeping in line with the majority of our experience in Irish bed and breakfasts, the room is cozy (i.e. on the small side), and the bathroom was very small. My girlfriend and I had no issues with the size - especially since we were most concerned with cleanliness, having our own bathroom, and having a room which was in good repair (this room, and the bed and breakfast in general, met all these needs!). For travelers who want/need a lot of space and/or consider themselves to be above average size (height or weight), this room may be uncomfortable.

Food - was tasty and hot. They also had the best English bacon of anywhere we stayed on this trip!

Parking - was free and plenty of places to park in front of the bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yober_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 106 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

Very clean, quiet, comfortable, and neat rooms - one of the best B&Bs on our trip! Stella is incredibly welcoming, warm, and helpful. The B&B is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the center of Galway, which is a fun and vibrant city! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Great B&B! Stella was so nice, the rooms were great, very clean and well kept. Short walk (10 min.) into town made for a great way to walk off a dinner or pint. Galway is very active and young and was pleasant as well. Ended up staying an extra day and they were very helpful in accomidating our change! Stay here is Galway!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DK805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Hands down this is a great place to stay in Galway. The rooms/breakfast area are spotless and classy. Stella is a sweet and hospitable host. Not only was she a great cook, she was also extremely helpful with directions and sight seeing opportunities.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielSkiffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My two friends and I rated our stay at Consilio B&B as one of the best in Ireland. Close to both Galway City centre and Salthill, our host was so helpful, especially when we had difficulties with our hire car. She was a fount of information on what to do and where to go in Galway and was kind enough to drop us off to a pub which had live music - a great experience. Great breakfasts complemented sparkling clean accommodation. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
Thank ozdeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Stella is an amazing hostess! Her rooms are beautiful and comfortable (if a little small...especially the bathrooms). Just a few blocks from the Salthill Prom and a 10-15 minute walk from downtown Galway, it is a pretty great location, especially considering the price. Breakfast, of course, was huge and delicious. Most importantly, though, Stella helped us with our travel plans, laughed with us on the porch, and just generally made our stay that much more pleasant and homey. Would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Exceptionally clean and fresh, Stella is a lovely lady who took time to sit down with us for a cup of tea, and gave us directions into the heart of Galway. She is also a good cook and her facility provides good parking, which was important to me. Would not hesitate to recommend Consilio B&B to anyone from anywhere in the world. You will be happy with your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Consilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Consilio

Address: Consilio 4 Whitestrand Avenue | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Hotel Class:3 star — Consilio 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Consilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing