We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful evening”

Dunguaire Castle's Medieval Banquet
Ranked #4 of 18 Concerts & Shows in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Catoosa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been to the banquet in Bunratty. We found Dunguaire to be smaller and more intimate. Wonderful entertainment and excellent food. The potato leek soup was the best we had in all of Ireland. The mead was aslo delicious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank t8bacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    54
    23
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dunguaire Castle experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I visited it on my way to Cliffs of Moher and it was a good experience, the castle is excellent and look well maintained. being on the Galway Bay at Kinvara, it adds to the beauty of the Castle.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Santucool_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Amazing and unforgettable night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I LOVED my experience here. There were only 3 people who ran the main show--two singers and one harpist. You begin the evening with a glass of mead in the main entryway (while being referred to as "my lady" and "my lord" and then you are taken to the Banquet area, where you are served a 4 course meal--salad, soup, the main course and dessert. All of the food was very good, and the wine is included in the meal. The best part, jugs of wine were on the table for you to self-serve and if you ran out, they would bring you more. After the meal, you are entertained with traditional Irish poetry, song, and skits, many of which come right from Galway itself and the surrounding area. It was a fabulous night I won't soon forget, and am looking forward to going back sometime soon!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best time in a castle ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were on a tour, a busload of Aussie's and Americans for the most part. This banquet was small, intimate and very entertaining. We started with mead, a deadly drink made with honey, they sell it too! The entertainers were in character from the moment you arrive at the door and only become their "real selves" at the end of the night. It was fun to join in and they included people from our group as the king and queen, who joined right in and were designated king and queen for the rest of our trip! Maeve had to slip out of character, as she was the first aid person and needed to tend to my scraped knees suffered from falling on the path below the castle in my high wedges. She was an angel and sweetly checked on me all night. All in all, the actors, the food, the drink, the atmosphere of the castle and the mood of the night was a perfect Irish time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“just visited the tower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We didn't do dinner here, but we did visit the tower and climbed to the roof top. It's a tight squeeze, but we made our way around the roof. Interesting story of the lady that decided to live there. The man giving the brief background on the tower house is old enough to remember seeing the Lady riding around on her side saddle and joking that she was going to fall off her horse.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunguaire Castle's Medieval Banquet also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Kinvara, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
County Clare, Province of Munster
 

Been to Dunguaire Castle's Medieval Banquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing