We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #48 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at the Amber Hill B&B in November 2011 for a weekend trip to Galway.

Was very impressed with the room when we arrived. Very cozy, clean and warm and the room contained a small TV on the wall, a fridge and an electronic safe. The staff were great to deal with and I must say the breakfast was really great. Cooked Irish breakfast if you wanted and also a continental breakfast buffet which was more then adequate to start our day. Also the person I was with didn't eat red meat but this wasn't a problem as a vegetarian cooked breakfast was also available. And skipping Irish breakfast as recommended in a review below is blasphemous!

The only downfall about the Amber Hill was its location as it is a good bit out of Galway city and a mile or two from Salthill which might put some people off. However there is a bus stop just around the corner which is on a route that takes you into the city so this was not a problem for us.

All in all I would highly recommend the B&B. It was great value for the cost and would have absolutely no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Dave,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    92
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
69
116
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The B&B is an adorable house attached with another to make for a larger B&B. It is more like a hotel than a B&B but you can tell that a lot of love when into making it special for their guests. The breakfast was delicious and hearty. The bedrooms were comfortable, very clean and new and stocked with toiletries, hair dryer, ironing board, voltage adapter, safe, mini fridge and safe. Everything you needed really. The only disappointment which is not the b&b's fault is the distance to anywhere on foot. I like to walk, and I walk a lot and I found the distance to be a bit much being that I wasn't prepared for it. If walking isn't your thing this could be frustrating.

However if you had a car, overall a lovely adorable space to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraSue81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I'll be honest - I chose Amber Hill because of price and location. As I was attending a conference at the nearby Ardilhaun Hotel but didn't want to pay their prices, Amber Hill was an attractive financial alternative.

But the reality was so much better than the promise. Don't let the fact that the property is part of a housing development on a busy road affect your decision. My single room was at the front and I didn't hear a thing all night. Bed was very comfortable, the room was spotless and while not enormous, had everything I would expect of a three star property: tea and coffee making, decent lighting, TV, free wi-fi, spotless bathroom with great towels and shampoo.

But breakfast is the real deal-sealer. I had the continental option and if there was something missing from the choice I didn't notice what it was. Cereals, breads, juices, fresh-brewed coffee, yoghurt, etc, etc. It might be an extra 6 euro for breakfast - but I would recommend it completely.

Great hotel for anybody on a budget. Perfect for business or short visits to Galway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balloo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place was not quite what we were expecting. It was more like a mini hotel than a B&B. It was a nice, clean place. The breakfast was pretty good. The rooms were adequate and had everything we needed. Service upon arrival was not as helpful or friendly as we would have hoped. I did speak with a different person on the phone before we arrived and they were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeaRock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The house is very elegant and everything looks so clean and new. The neighbourhood is calm and we coukd reach the beach and the center of the town in just a few minutes.
The breakfast was good and rich.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantin-Gabr... U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

A nice, clean little guesthouse. Basic in nature with friendly accommodating staff. Good quality latte machine. Skip Irish breakfast in lieu of continental unless your a fan of excessive meat. A little away from the action but then so are many B&Bs and Guesthouses.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccinCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was good. It is a 15 minute bus ride from the city centre. The bathroom smelled like mould. The hallways and bedroom had an odd odour - like carpet cleaner covering a bad smell. The television was from the 1980s and was smaller than a computer screen. The common area was clean and computer access was provided. The decor was nice. It was comfortable but I wouldn't go back unless they fixed these issues.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yohonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amber Heights Guesthouse
Amber Heights Guesthouse
#99 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#27 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: Amber Hill 12 Bishop o'Donnell Road Cuan Glas | Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Hill is one of the best guesthouses in the Galway area. We always go the extra mile to ensure our guests have a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hill b&b
Amber Hill Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing