We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #52 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed there over the weekend for the Volvo ocean race, &being part of a party of 9 ranging in ages between just 2yrs & up to 50yrs, we all have nothing but praise for the the rooms themselves & the owners were very friendly, even giving the use of a room well before check in to sort out a change of clothes for the baby after such a long drive down, I will most definitively be back A.S.A.P; Oh & I can't forget to mention about the breakfast, which was really tasty, & beds very very comfy.. can't wait to get back, Thanks Guy's for a lovely stay, Michelle.

Room Tip: If your travelling with young children I'd really suggest booking a chalet to the back of the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Staff is service-minded, rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are hard as always in Ireland. Convenient parking space. Breakfast not included, but quite tasty full irish, standard continental. Free WiFi with coverage in all rooms. The b&b is 30 min walk from galway city, its only €10 taxi fare though.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our first visit to Ireland. Looked at all the reviews and chose Amber Hill for a one night stopover.
Situated in Salthill, a very nice suburb of Galway. My wife and I were very impressed. We were welcomed by a very pleasant guy, didn't get his name unfortunately. Nothing too much trouble and very helpful. The rest of the staff were just as nice. In all a very pleasant experience.
Irish hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We visited during a weekend of festivities, Gaelic Football championship, and a music festival in Salthill park. Cabs into town were 7-8Euro, the bus stop was close,but we chose to use City Taxi when we ventured into town. The facilities were great! The rooms were very clean and well maintained. Tea/Coffee and water provided in the common areas were a great way to mingle with other guests and relax before exploring the city or returning from a trip. Breakfast was excellent! The staff was very friendly and helpful! The free wifi and use of desktop computers was also a plus! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a clean, safe, warm and welcome place to stay in Galway! Thanks y'all!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 302 and would recommend it to anyone! No issue with noise from above or outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LetsGoThere12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Amber Hill for two nights in June 2012. The staff is awesome, rooms are clean and good size. Nicely located to walk to town and 45 minute drive to Aran Island Ferry depart. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend Amber Hill to others ! Thanks, Amber Hill for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northern_Cowgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stopped three nights in this excellent value B&B. Two properties adjacent to each other, very good quality rooms with usual facilities incl. free wi-fi. Excellent cooked breakfasts and free espresso machine during the evening. A good 30-40 mins walk into town although there are buses every 20 mins (40 mins after 1940) from across the road and taxi is €9 or so.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobFChester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here 5 June 2012. Reasonably priced ESP as dog friendly and no extra charges for dogs. Room lovely, added benefit of a lovely lounge area for guests so brought food back that evening and wine and mingled with other guests. Fresh coffee and choice of teas available in guest lounge. Gorgeous freshly cooked breakfast and choice of other things. Very pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karenclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#13 of 189 in Galway
117 reviews
0 mi away
Amber Heights Guesthouse
Amber Heights Guesthouse
#72 of 189 in Galway
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
894 reviews
2 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
776 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: Amber Hill 12 Bishop o'Donnell Road Cuan Glas | Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $48 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Hill is one of the best guesthouses in the Galway area. We always go the extra mile to ensure our guests have a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hill Hotel Galway
Amber Hill b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing