We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to explore the west of Ireland,”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amber Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Bay
Ranked #136 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Royal Burgh Of Rutherglen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to explore the west of Ireland,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Cant praise this place Enough, Lovely tidy, clean rooms and wonderful Food!, The owner Michael was VERY Helpful and was always available with good advice, and went out of his way to help henever he could, well done!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    23
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
22
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

It was pouring with rain and dark when we turned up. The hosts were very accommodating and friendly, and the rooms pleasant and clean.

Great location and excellent value for money, however the walls were quite thin and could hear what was happening in the next rooms.

Breakfast was great - although a little slow, and felt sorry for the one person who seemed to be organising the breakfasts for the full house. It was very delicious though.

A lovely spot to say, and would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europe-travellers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Hands, Llanelli
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the Amber Bay on th 16th Feb'12 for four days. Excellent hosts, very warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble.. Rooms very clean and comfortable and a superb breakfast. This was our 1st trip to Galway to visit our daughter and we will definitely make this our base for further visits.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of day's.. if u are looking for a B&B in Galway, salthill!!.. amber bay should be your choice!!.. the rooms are very clean and very nice!!.. we had the room with the bayview.. it was very nice!!.. we tried the irish breakfast.. and i can tell you.. its delicious!!.. michael & his partner are very friendly and kind!!.. you can ask them aything.. they will do anything so you will have a pleasent stay!!.. if u dont know what u can do in the area.. ask and he will tell u!!.. i highly recomment amber bay!!.. and we will return for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The2GirlsFromHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here over new year. Lovely clean B&b. I would defo recommend anyone here. Right by the sea and short drive to Galway. Shops around the corner. The owner Michael and his partner were so lovely and helpful and breakfast was yummy. Thank you Michael for being a great host.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ubhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Enjoyed our stay. Very clean. The double room is a little small. Friendly staff. Nice view of the bay and a nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woohooletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at Amber Bay for 2 nights, and found it to be an excellent place to stay. Very good value for money in particular. The rooms were clean, comfortable and with good facilities, and our favourite moments from our stay were the excellent breakfasts served each morning. The new owner Michael and his family are clearly working really hard to make Amber Bay a great success, and based on our experience, we left fully staisfied and eager to return another day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
0.9 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#4 of 197 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Seashore Lodge
Seashore Lodge
#80 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fourwinds Lodge
Fourwinds Lodge
#68 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Bay

Property: Amber Bay
Address: 6 Cashelmara | Knocknacara, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Bay is a newly modernized, purpose built bed and breakfast, located in the heart of Galway overlooking Salthill, and the beaches of Galway bay. A 5 minute walk will take you to the Galway golf club. Amber Bay is ideal to explore the west of Ireland, in easy reach of Connemara, Clifden, and the ferry to the famous Aran Islands. A 5 minute drive will set you in the heart of Galway city with its timeless charm and diverse culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Bay Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing