We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get yer head down......”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dun Aoibhinn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dun Aoibhinn House
Ranked #181 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to get yer head down......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed at Jim's for a few days in June and really enjoyed it.
He was a great host and very helpful with the directions of the
local Bars & Restaurants. On the way home, at Dublin Airport, I
discovered that I had left my credit cards at Dun Aoibhinn and
rang Jim about it. He posted them out to me and I got them
three days later. A truely honest and helpful guy, and a great
Ambassador for Galway Tourism. Some of the reviews on this
page slate Dun Aoibhinn, but overall for hospitality, prices, and
allocation, and a great host, nobody in their right mind could
knock it.!!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkers1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    11
    17
    18
See reviews for
5
33
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

I booked this place online,and was very impressed with quick response to email,unlike other places i emailed,stayed in family room,as there were four of us,offered great value for money,phoned the owner when we got to bus station,and he collected us and brought us to the house all included in the price,he pointed out the many places of interest along the way,and showed us a quick route back into town,turns out jim the owner is a dj as well,he advised us on the great music pubs like roisin dubh,massimos,blue note etc,which are just around corner from his house,his late dad was a butcher so jim knows his meat/food etc and advised us on some really good places to eat at reasonable prices,he was so helpful,he even gave us his laptop for a couple of hours,so we could catch up with emails etc,any info we asked for,he could answer,a very nice place to stay,and by far the most knowledgeable host we came across on our trip,thanks very much Jim

  • Liked — location,vast knowledge of friendly owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank londonboysLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

On arrival the front garden looks like an excavation site, on entering the smell of smoke hits you. We were told our room would not be ready until 3pm!

On entering our room on the ground floor (5) I noticed no light bulb and asked for a replacement which we did not see through our four day stay, the blinds fell off to display an untidy back garden and wires were floating across the room from the tv and the door knob was hanging off

The bathroom on the next floor up was filthy, the landlords attempt to paint the bath is now crumbling into the base of the bath and there was rarely any hot water

Very poor and there are nicer b+b's at the same price around the corner on the front

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Russell1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

san fran usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

jim the host picked us up from train station,which was great as we had a lot of luggage,pointed out places of interest on way back to house,and also showed us shortest way back into town,had a really nice room with,big flat tv,all the channels you could want,fridge,hair dryer,wi fi,kettle,and a lovely contenental breakfast with fruits,yougarts,and the best brown soda bead,all in the room,great to have brekfast in bed,while checking my email,got some great tips on pubs and reastaurants,which was very helpful,as jim had warned us about places in town that tend to rip the tourists off,also did a walking tour with galwaytours.ie which was great fun,also went to aran islands which is just fab,

  • Liked — great location,facilities,at a great rate
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sanfranm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2008

Armed with my new lonely planet i headed to Ireland in search of the Emerald isle. We pretty much stuck to reccommendations from the book and tripadvisor. After seeing Dun Aoibhinn in the book we cross checked with Tripadvisor and booked.
It was everything all sources said- friendly, full of character and superbly located. We travelled with another couple and their view was the same as ours
The owner Jim is full if insider tips and he seems to know everyone in Galway.
As a small business owner myself i really respect Jim's pride and enthusiasm for his house and work
Thank You Sir

  • Liked — Loaction and friendliness
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RightonDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

I have travelled to galway several times for various events over a number of years,i have stayed in various types of accommodation
from hotels to guesthouses etc,I have never quiet stayed somewhere,that left me totally happy with my stay,that is untill i found dunaoibhinn house,its so close to all the attractions in galway,a great location,that i just left the car in the private car park, for three days that i stayed with my wife last week,the owner jim is very friendly and down to earth,and full of local knowledge,even though i have been to galway many times its nice to be kept up to date with new pubs restaurants etc,our room was great,comfy bed,ensuite,free broadband,and blackout blinds,for a great nights sleep,even had a clock radio with ipod connection to wake us up!it was great to stay in a place to be able to come and go as you please,without intrusion into my plans,which is something ive experienced in other guesthouses,i found it so pleasant,I have already booked again for summertime

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank decland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

arrived very late last weekend,6hours late,irish traffic i guess,was no problem with jim,greeted me with a friendly smile and firm handshake,showed me to my room.it certainly didnt dissapoint,lovely big bed, huge tv with sky sports and wifi,had quick shower,shave,unpacked my suit,as i was attending a ball in a cityhotel,my god! no shoes,panic! called jim for some ideas,as it was after 9pm,all shops closed,he quickly asked me what size i was,i am 11,jim is 10,to which his response was to phone a friend of his of size 11,or there abouts,10 mins later his friend arrived with the shoes,jim polished em up while i finished getting ready,perfect! to top it off he then dropped me to the hotel,he certainly saved my neck!,thanks jim

  • Liked — great room,private parking,free wifi
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank raydublin_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Donegan Court Aparthotel
Donegan Court Aparthotel
#31 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
#112 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sliding Rock
The Sliding Rock
#57 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galway Arms Inn
Galway Arms Inn
#162 of 197 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#28 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Aoibhinn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Aoibhinn House

Property: Dun Aoibhinn House
Address: Dun Aoibhinn 12 Saint Mary's Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dun aoibhinn house is a beautifully restored period style residence in Galway city. It is located within 5minutes walk of the city centre and within 5 mins walk to the beach in Salthill, National university of Ireland(nuig)and university college hospital Galway(uchg)Dun aoibhinn house is an ideal base from which to enjoy the capital of the west and its beautiful surroundings,enjoy the wonderfull shopping on offer, go to the theatre, museum, relax and enjoy a meal in one of the citys fantastic restaurants,or visit any of the numerous city pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dun Aoibhinn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing