We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You Sir-Lonely Planet were right”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dun Aoibhinn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dun Aoibhinn House
Ranked #181 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Whistler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank You Sir-Lonely Planet were right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2008

Armed with my new lonely planet i headed to Ireland in search of the Emerald isle. We pretty much stuck to reccommendations from the book and tripadvisor. After seeing Dun Aoibhinn in the book we cross checked with Tripadvisor and booked.
It was everything all sources said- friendly, full of character and superbly located. We travelled with another couple and their view was the same as ours
The owner Jim is full if insider tips and he seems to know everyone in Galway.
As a small business owner myself i really respect Jim's pride and enthusiasm for his house and work
Thank You Sir

  • Liked — Loaction and friendliness
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RightonDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    11
    17
    18
See reviews for
5
33
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

I have travelled to galway several times for various events over a number of years,i have stayed in various types of accommodation
from hotels to guesthouses etc,I have never quiet stayed somewhere,that left me totally happy with my stay,that is untill i found dunaoibhinn house,its so close to all the attractions in galway,a great location,that i just left the car in the private car park, for three days that i stayed with my wife last week,the owner jim is very friendly and down to earth,and full of local knowledge,even though i have been to galway many times its nice to be kept up to date with new pubs restaurants etc,our room was great,comfy bed,ensuite,free broadband,and blackout blinds,for a great nights sleep,even had a clock radio with ipod connection to wake us up!it was great to stay in a place to be able to come and go as you please,without intrusion into my plans,which is something ive experienced in other guesthouses,i found it so pleasant,I have already booked again for summertime

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank decland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

arrived very late last weekend,6hours late,irish traffic i guess,was no problem with jim,greeted me with a friendly smile and firm handshake,showed me to my room.it certainly didnt dissapoint,lovely big bed, huge tv with sky sports and wifi,had quick shower,shave,unpacked my suit,as i was attending a ball in a cityhotel,my god! no shoes,panic! called jim for some ideas,as it was after 9pm,all shops closed,he quickly asked me what size i was,i am 11,jim is 10,to which his response was to phone a friend of his of size 11,or there abouts,10 mins later his friend arrived with the shoes,jim polished em up while i finished getting ready,perfect! to top it off he then dropped me to the hotel,he certainly saved my neck!,thanks jim

  • Liked — great room,private parking,free wifi
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank raydublin_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

We found Dun Aoibhinn House a very fine place to stay. It is walking distance to An Lar (city center - the only Gaelic I know!) and has Wi-Fi and Cable. Maybe we were out in the countryside too long but it was really nice to be able to check in with family via Internet (we brought a laptop) and also watch some shows just before bed.

Jim, the owner, was more than detailed in writing up directions to walk to town and included pubs and places to eat that he recommended.

After reading some other reviews I have to note that Dun Aoibhinn House is just that - a "Guest House". That means they don't serve breakfast but are a little less expensive than a B&B. We didn't notice any overpowering cig smell but just a whiff here and there like it was coming from outside. Nothing bothersome, certainly (coming from 6 non-smokers).

Would def recommend this if you are staying in Galway. We had a private driveway that was safe, a short walk into town and perfect directions from Jim.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Floof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

Stayed fro nearly one week with my boyfriend. It was exactly what we wanted. Close to City centre and pubs but also far enough awy and quiet. Our host give us some great local tips and really made the most of our stay. would recommend to anyone and will be back again

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Weather
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MarianneonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

The place reeked of smoke, the owner chain smokes when he irons the linens! Filthy bathroom. And, believe it or not for a b&b, NO breakfast! Just a coffee maker in the room and a few biscuits. Terrible experience.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — filthy bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Coerlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

The location was great but the house was not very clean. Not all rooms en suite. Shared bath room facilities were not very convenient and again not very clean. Pretty noisey. Not as friendly as other reports stated.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wichipooyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Donegan Court Aparthotel
Donegan Court Aparthotel
#32 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
#112 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sliding Rock
The Sliding Rock
#57 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galway Arms Inn
Galway Arms Inn
#162 of 197 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#29 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun Aoibhinn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Aoibhinn House

Property: Dun Aoibhinn House
Address: Dun Aoibhinn 12 Saint Mary's Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dun aoibhinn house is a beautifully restored period style residence in Galway city. It is located within 5minutes walk of the city centre and within 5 mins walk to the beach in Salthill, National university of Ireland(nuig)and university college hospital Galway(uchg)Dun aoibhinn house is an ideal base from which to enjoy the capital of the west and its beautiful surroundings,enjoy the wonderfull shopping on offer, go to the theatre, museum, relax and enjoy a meal in one of the citys fantastic restaurants,or visit any of the numerous city pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dun Aoibhinn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing