We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop on a Long Journey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2009

What a welcome we had after a long day's journey. We were warmly welcomed by Sorcha the owner. Upon arrival we were offered tea and home made scones. (delicious). The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We picked the previous night from a selection of made to order gourmet breakfast choices. Everyone in our party of 5 was quite pleased with the excellent breakfast . The location was great! We walked everywhere.

We liked it so much we asked to stay another night but alas the inn was full. So... on to Sligo we went. Thank you Sorcha for knowing what travelers are looking for in extreme comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamcracker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 555 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2009

I stayed a couple of days at The Herons Rest recently and highly recommend it. Sorcha is a wonderful hostess and made me feel very welcome. The B and B is situated in a quiet street on the banks of the river close to the center of Galway. Breakfast was a highlight of the day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Great location (with parking!), comfortable beds, clean and modern bathroom, free wifi, beautiful view, and mouth watering breakfasts. What more could you want? Sorcha is really a gourmet cook, in addition to being an amazing hostess. She even packed us a picnic lunch on our last day, so we'd have something to eat on out drive to Dingle. She stocks the rooms with delicious port, so you can take a load off when you walk in the door. She also makes great restaurant recommendations, being a foodie herself. It isn't the least expensive room in Galway, but it's also the nicest B&B I've stayed in. Plus, it's much more central than many of the B&B's in Galway.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondInTheRough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Heron's Rest simply blew me away.

So the rooms are small, the bathrooms not en-suite and there's ne'er a sausage or a rasher on the breakfast menu. Did it matter? Not a jot.

Heron's Rest is in a perfect location right in the heart of Galway City - literally steps away from great restaurants and pubs and that fantastic Galway atmosphere and looking onto the Corrib River and across to the Claddagh.

The rooms and bathrooms are not big - because this is a renovated old town-house - but the attention to little details is a joy - decanter of port in the room, spotlessly clean, robe and flip flops for each guest provided.

The host, Sorcha, is simply wonderful. Relaxed and easy-going this Galway native has a gem of a personality. And she cooks the breakfasts...

And the breakfasts are simply the best breakfasts I have ever tasted in ANY hotel or guesthouse in Ireland - a unique menu, everything done to perfection, beautifully presented and plenty of very, very, tasty food.

Do stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank injun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I spent 4 nights at The Heron"s Rest in Galway City, 9th August to 12th August 2009.
I have stayed in other B&Bs & Boutique Hotels in Ireland, and can honestly say this is simply one of the best places I have stayed in. I have been to Ireland 3 times and have yet to find a more welcoming, comfortable and well appointed place to relax and enjoy your time in Galway. The owner who is also an amazing chef is a huge reason as to why this hideaway is so successful. The attention to detail, the amazing service, and the gourmet breakfasts, which by the way have won tons of awards is just a few reasons as to why The Heron's Rest is a must when visitng this beautiful part of the country. Sorcha Malloy will take good care of you. She is a wealth of great information as to where to dine in the evening, the best places to shop, the best local attractions to visit...I not only found her friendly, welcoming and helpful. She CARES about her guests. Everything that is presented; to the well appointed rooms, the delicious breakfasts and even the bathroom products that are offered to each guest, is well thoughtout.
There is simply no other place to stay in Galway.......treat yourself, I GUARANTEE you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjmarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

I arrived at this b&b and I was immediately in awe with the efficiency & warmth of the staff. My room was tidy, clean & comfortable and the staff were very helpful in recommending places to eat, drink & visit.

The real bonus at the Heron's Rest was the delicious gourmet breakfast that is served up in the morning by Sorcha Molloy & her staff. The menu reads like a Gordon Ramsay's restaurant and it tastes just as good!

I had a great time at this b&b and i highly recommend anybody that comes across this place to stay for at least one night - well done to Sorcha Molloy!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wordtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 3, 2009

The rooms are clean but small. The location is very convenient, and it is beautiful looking out on the bay. The best thing about this place are the included breakfasts, which were our best meals in all of Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,909 reviews
1.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,788 reviews
5.3 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
894 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 189 in Galway
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Heron's Rest 16a The Long Walk, Galway H91 KN67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $218 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Galway City centre The Herons Rest lies nestled on the banks of the river Corrib over looking the traditional Claddagh harbour. This idyllic waterside location is only 3 mins from the hustle and bustle of the centre of town and the 'craic' of Galway's Latin Quarter. We offer 3 double sea view ensuite bedrooms with gourmet breakfast buffet and also one 3 bedroom self catering town house which can be booked as one unit for groups or families.Each cosy chic bedroom has stunning views overlooking the Claddagh Harbour and the famous Galway Bay. Outside the water is teaming with wildlife such as, otters, herons and the largest colony of mute swans in Western Europe. Traditional sailing boats named 'Galway Hookers' can be watched setting sail from your bedroom window and our binoculars enhance the view that stretches across to the Burren Hills. We call it 'keeping it country in the city'. Ethos Our philosophy at The Herons Rest is to ensure our guests get the most out of Galway. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed And Breakfast
The Herons Rest Boutique Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing