We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best & only Hideaway to stay in Co.Galway......Truly Awesome!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
1 review
“The Best & only Hideaway to stay in Co.Galway......Truly Awesome!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I spent 4 nights at The Heron"s Rest in Galway City, 9th August to 12th August 2009.
I have stayed in other B&Bs & Boutique Hotels in Ireland, and can honestly say this is simply one of the best places I have stayed in. I have been to Ireland 3 times and have yet to find a more welcoming, comfortable and well appointed place to relax and enjoy your time in Galway. The owner who is also an amazing chef is a huge reason as to why this hideaway is so successful. The attention to detail, the amazing service, and the gourmet breakfasts, which by the way have won tons of awards is just a few reasons as to why The Heron's Rest is a must when visitng this beautiful part of the country. Sorcha Malloy will take good care of you. She is a wealth of great information as to where to dine in the evening, the best places to shop, the best local attractions to visit...I not only found her friendly, welcoming and helpful. She CARES about her guests. Everything that is presented; to the well appointed rooms, the delicious breakfasts and even the bathroom products that are offered to each guest, is well thoughtout.
There is simply no other place to stay in Galway.......treat yourself, I GUARANTEE you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    82
    24
    9
    14
See reviews for
74
253
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

I arrived at this b&b and I was immediately in awe with the efficiency & warmth of the staff. My room was tidy, clean & comfortable and the staff were very helpful in recommending places to eat, drink & visit.

The real bonus at the Heron's Rest was the delicious gourmet breakfast that is served up in the morning by Sorcha Molloy & her staff. The menu reads like a Gordon Ramsay's restaurant and it tastes just as good!

I had a great time at this b&b and i highly recommend anybody that comes across this place to stay for at least one night - well done to Sorcha Molloy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 3, 2009

The rooms are clean but small. The location is very convenient, and it is beautiful looking out on the bay. The best thing about this place are the included breakfasts, which were our best meals in all of Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed in this fantasic B&B recently. We have never been so well looked after by a fantastic hostess in Sorcha Molloy. There was nothing that she did not do for my wife and son and me. She is a fantastic chef and the breakfasts are 5 star quality. The location is second to none. It is on Long Walk in Galway and you are very close to the centre of Galway and the views of Galway Bay from the front of the B&B are stunning. Sorcha made us feel so at home that we enjoyed our stay from the minute we arrived. There is a lovely relaxed way of life in this home away from home and we will be returning to this fantastic B&B very soon.

  • Liked — Food was fantastic
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EndaLeitrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

My wife and I were very excited to stay at (what seemed like) a nice B&B in a great location. Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay. We were crammed into a tiny room and shared the bathroom with another couple. The person who greeted us at the door was very unwelcoming and seemed annoyed to have us staying at the B&B. We're going to stay somewhere else when we come back to Galway - I do not recommend the Heron's Rest!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank traveller3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We absolutely LOVED The Heron's Rest! When we arrived we parked on the street and Sorcha immediately gave us money to pay for parking all day (the previous guests had driven off with the parking pass!). We had a beautiful waterview room - both the room and the bathroom were very comfortable. We loved the extra touches - the robes and the wine. The location of the B&B is ideal for exploring Galway. A short one minute walk through the Spanish Arch and you are downtown. The breakfast in the morning was incredible - it was not the typical "Irish Breakfast" we got everywhere else. Sorcha made us some great lattes and we enjoyed her homemade muffins while our breakfast was prepared. After breakfast we were up in our room and looked out the window and there was the Heron on top of our car! Galway and The Herons Rest was our favorite place in Ireland and we really hope to come back soon.

  • Liked — The breakfast!
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was fabulous!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpost100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

On arrival we were shown to a lovely room overlooking the water. I needed to park in the street and later that afternoon we met Sorcha, who provided not only her parking pass for the street but a marvellous welcome to the Heron's Rest. The central location made this ideal for walking and exploring the town. The breakfast's were simply fabulous, home made bread, the dish of your choice all freshly prepared in front of your very eyes. Any questions were always attended to and lots of advice freely given. The other guests at the time were wonderful company and our days started with a resume of what had gone before, all in a warm friendly atmosphere. When we return to Galway we will be choosing the Heron's Rest as our preferred accomodation.

  • Liked — The location, the views
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travellinman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Heron's Rest 16a The Long Walk | City Centre,, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Galway City centre The Herons Rest lies nestled on the banks of the river Corrib over looking the traditional Claddagh harbour. This idyllic waterside location is only 3 mins from the hustle and bustle of the centre of town and the 'craic' of Galway's Latin Quarter. Each cosy chic bedroom has stunning views overlooking the Claddagh Harbour and the famous Galway Bay. Outside the water is teaming with wildlife such as, otters, herons and the largest colony of mute swans in Western Europe. Traditional sailing boats named 'Galway Hookers' can be watched setting sail from your bedroom window and our binoculars enhance the view that stretches across to the Burren Hills. We call it 'keeping it country in the city'. Ethos Our philosophy at The Herons Rest is to ensure our guests get the most out of Galway and its locale. We enjoy providing a home from home experience and strive to share the best of the west with you. Our gourmet breakfasts alone, provisioned from local and organic produce have made us a destination not to miss. In each cosy chic bedroom lots of thoughtful touches enhance your comfort and panoramic views of the bay give a feeling of idyllic hideaway whilst still located in the city centre. We love to share up-to the minute advice with you on the best restaurant recommendations and help you with your reservations. Galway is the perfect base for day tripping and we offer personalised route planning to ensure you can avoid the tourist traps and find unspoilt secret spots. Why not let us pack a gourmet picnic for you? Or book afternoon tea on arrival to start your stay in a relaxing style. Breakfast is a convivial, cooked to order feast, prepared in front of you by your host. It is served at our communal breakfast table between 8- 11am and may also be received in your room. Irish farmhouse cheeses, natural juices and organic local yogurts accompany an 8 option gourmet menu. We are happy top accommodate your specific dietary requirements upon request. At the Herons Rest are passionate about hospitality and look forward to extending a warm welcome to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and HostelWorld so you can book your The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed And Breakfast
The Herons Rest Boutique Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing