We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Addison, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Wonderful suprise”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This lovely place delivered well above our expectations! The breakfast was amazing! The room was beautiful welcoming and impeccably kept! The owner is welcoming and very knowledgeable! I would recommend this place to everyone interested in Ireland.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    84
    24
    9
    14
See reviews for
74
260
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights of our honeymoon in October 2012. I did A LOT of research beforehand & finally settled on this place. It was a good choice, but I think it was our least favorite experience of our trip - but it wasn't a bad experience by any means, we just LOVED everywhere we stayed so much :).

The first bump in the road was when we arrived - When we got there, we didn't know where to park, so we just parked in the metered spot right out front. We figured we'd just move the car once we got our bags inside (also I wasn't clear on where the free parking area was). No one answered the door, so we went to the cafe just down the way & used their free Wi-Fi (this place is adorable, btw, & I had a fabulous cappucino). We didn't hear back from Sorcha for 2+ hours, but she explained she was in Spain for her birthday & thought that we weren't arriving until the following day; just made an honest mistake. She apologized & sent someone over to let us in. My husband & I are both pretty easygoing - but we were exhausted from hours of driving & it was cold & raining, so at this point we were a little cranky. Also, when the woman let us in - she showed us to a room on the 2nd floor... even though I had requested the top floor room & we were the only guests in the building. Just not the best way to start our trip.

We met Sorcha the next morning at breakfast & she was very nice. She is an exceptional chef & I ate the best french toast I've ever had in my life. She also reimbursed us for the money we spent at the meter, where we had parked our car that first day. She also provided us w/a map & drew out a route for us, since we were headed to Connemara & the Sky Road in Clifden - that was really helpful. Lastly, she gave us a fabulous recommendation for a local bar, outside the downtown area of Galway, over in Salthill - The Crane. We had a wonderful time listening to 20+ local musicians jam out & met & hung out w/some local college kids :).

Regarding the actual place - the rooms & the house are all beautiful & the view is awesome. I've read reviews that mention that the rooms are small - I am surprised by this, actually, & since we were the only ones in the building the 1st night, we went & looked at all the rooms. They aren't huge, but there is plenty of room & they are very charming. I think the top room might be the largest, but has the smallest bathrooms. Bathrooms in the other rooms were plenty spacious. Location is wonderful - very easy/short walk to downtown Galway & right by the Spanish Arch.

Parking for The Heron's Rest can be found by following the main road into Galway & following the signs into the big parking garage. Maybe we should have understood this better, but honestly when you're travelling internationally for the first time, renting a car, coordinating multiple locations to stay - sometimes it's nice to have things written in crayon.

Overall, I would stay there again, but we weren't crazy about Galway in general. Next time we're in that area, we will probably stay in Clifden or another smaller town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally beautiful & have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This cosy B&B is in a perfect location in Galway on the Long Walk, just minutes from the Spanish Arch. The host was really welcoming and hospitable. Breakfast was really nice and sociable, served at a communal table with all the guests and the food was delicious. I felt very comfortable as a guest travelling alone here.
It felt as though the hostess put a lot of thought into all the details and did her best to ensure all the guests were relaxed and well catered for- there was binoculars at the window of my room so you could enjoy the sea view and a carafe of sherry if you fancied a night cap! The shower was the only drawback to my stay here, the shower-head needed replacing in the bathroom I was sharing. As I was only there one night this didn't affect me too much but I'm sure I could have used another bathroom in the house. I would recommend this B&B to any of my friends and am sure to return again.
I had lunch in the nearby cafe Ard Bia and would also recommend a visit there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogabunny30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Overall

> We had a terrific stay at the Herons Rest during our recent vacation to Ireland in August.

> Following our brief stay (only one night), after benefiting from the central location for sightseeing and enjoying a delicious breakfast, we would highly recommend it!

Location

> Situated along the scenic 'Long Walk' on Galway Bay (with views of the bay from our room) and located just steps from downtown (i.e., Spanish Arch / Shop Street, etc.)...but far enough removed from the 'action' so as to avoid the late night noise from the pubs, the location of the Herons Rest is hard to beat!

> Upon arriving (a bit early) at the Herons Rest, we met Sorcha and were able to drop off our bags in our room (she takes great pride in her property and wanted our room to be fully ready for our stay before we checked-in). After dropping our bags, it was off to park our car (at a discounted rate at the garage near the Jurys Inn) and begin our sightseeing in Galway.

Room

> Our en-suite room (on the second floor - third floor for us Americans) was very nicely appointed and spacious, had a great view of Galway Bay...very comfortable all around. It was the perfect size for a travelling couple, though would likely be tight for a 3+ person family.

> The bathroom was very clean and spacious, with plenty of hot water for our showers.

> Touches like the mineral water and gourmet chocolates were very nice additions as well.

Breakfast

> After several days of the traditional Full Irish Breakfast at the other hotels during our stay, breakfast at the Herons Rest was a very refreshing, delicious and much lighter experience (Sorcha's culinary training is on full display).

> We were treated to fresh fruit juice and fruit salad, along with an assortment of fresh baked muffins and scones (the aroma wafted throughout the property early in the morning). My wife enjoyed fresh pancakes and I enjoyed smoked salmon and poached eggs over a light salad. We were joined at breakfast by several of the other guests and enjoyed the conversation...hearing where else they were visiting, tips they had, sights to see, etc.

Other

> Be sure to have a meal at Ard Bia just down the street (Long Walk), it's delicious!

> Don't miss dessert at The Pie Maker (Cross Street)...also delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey_boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location just a short stroll from the bustling city centre but lovely and quiet with only the sound of the flow of the river Corrib and the swans outside our window.
We stayed in a lovely room, slept beautifully and had a stunning breakfast shared with the other residents to set us on our way.
We will be back to this magical city and the wonderful Heron's Rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briangoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

On vacation, the place you lay your head every night should be as comfortable as home. The Herons Rest was just that and more. With a private bath and spacious room with a beautiful view it felt as if we were staying with friends. Just like a friend, Sorcha provided more than just a room. She gave us great insight to the area, prepared a fabulous breakfast every morning and even packed a picnic lunch for our trip to the Aran Islands. Dani made sure our room was clean and the sheets crisp. The attention to comfort was obvious with the little touches like chocolates, tea, coffee and water in every room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieJamisonAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights in aug 2013. The room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully presented. It has a lovely setting overlooking Galway bay, but only 2 minutes from the bars and restaurants of central Galway. The breakfasts were to die for. Nice extra touches like afternoon tea and glasses of port provided.
Highly recommended. We will definitely stay again.
Philip Weeks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,449 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Heron's Rest 16a The Long Walk | City Centre,, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Galway City centre The Herons Rest lies nestled on the banks of the river Corrib over looking the traditional Claddagh harbour. This idyllic waterside location is only 3 mins from the hustle and bustle of the centre of town and the 'craic' of Galway's Latin Quarter. Each cosy chic bedroom has stunning views overlooking the Claddagh Harbour and the famous Galway Bay. Outside the water is teaming with wildlife such as, otters, herons and the largest colony of mute swans in Western Europe. Traditional sailing boats named 'Galway Hookers' can be watched setting sail from your bedroom window and our binoculars enhance the view that stretches across to the Burren Hills. We call it 'keeping it country in the city'. Ethos Our philosophy at The Herons Rest is to ensure our guests get the most out of Galway and its locale. We enjoy providing a home from home experience and strive to share the best of the west with you. Our gourmet breakfasts alone, provisioned from local and organic produce have made us a destination not to miss. In each cosy chic bedroom lots of thoughtful touches enhance your comfort and panoramic views of the bay give a feeling of idyllic hideaway whilst still located in the city centre. We love to share up-to the minute advice with you on the best restaurant recommendations and help you with your reservations. Galway is the perfect base for day tripping and we offer personalised route planning to ensure you can avoid the tourist traps and find unspoilt secret spots. Why not let us pack a gourmet picnic for you? Or book afternoon tea on arrival to start your stay in a relaxing style. Breakfast is a convivial, cooked to order feast, prepared in front of you by your host. It is served at our communal breakfast table between 8- 11am and may also be received in your room. Irish farmhouse cheeses, natural juices and organic local yogurts accompany an 8 option gourmet menu. We are happy top accommodate your specific dietary requirements upon request. At the Herons Rest are passionate about hospitality and look forward to extending a warm welcome to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed And Breakfast
The Herons Rest Boutique Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing