We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT SPOT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“PERFECT SPOT!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I picked the Heron's Rest upon reviews on Tripadvisor. The B&B is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The place is spotless and the breakfasts were amazing, table was set with cheese's and fresh baked mini muffin's and beautifully set. We were very impressed with Sorcha as she was training a new chef the first morning that we were there. The location couldn't be better, although I guess we misunderstood the price on the parking over in the parking garage, we ended up paying over 20 euro for one night. We enjoyed our stay very much and the "little" details like the fresh flower in our room and the bottle of Port and chocolates make a big statement! We were however a little disappointed upon leaving though, as our hostess was having breakfast with her friends, she did not get up to say goodbye or ask if we had enjoyed our stay (which we did) or enjoyed the restaurant recommendations that she had given us ( which we did). I thought as a hostess that would be a given. All in all, Sorcha has a great thing going and I would absolutely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorcha_Molloy, Owner at The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for all your lovely comments and we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. My sincere apologies for not seeing you off, as I was having breakfast with friends from New Zealand who had travelled to be with us for a very big Birthday! It was highly unusual for me to be seated at the table like a guest! Also it is a pity to hear that you didn't avail of our discounted rate of €10 at the car park. I shall email you about organizing a rebate directly.
I trust the rest of your trip went well,
Kind regards,

Sorcha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    82
    24
    9
    14
See reviews for
74
253
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wonderful room all by itself on the top floor - great big window opens out to a view of the river and many birds in sight. Breakfast is delicious, as noted by many others. Locally sourced foods when possible. Really nice people run and work at this B & B. Although near the Spanish Arch which is a big gathering place for all kinds of people sitting, watching the river, and playing music - Heron's Rest is far enough past there to be quiet and peaceful. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatbush1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Herons rest is a small and very nice Bed & Breakfast with a view of the sea in Galway.

The breakfast is very fresh, tasty and amazing compared to other hotels I stayed on this trip. The owner/cook is extremely competent and friendly and gave us a lot tips and ideas for our stay in Connemara.

The only negative thing with this B&B, and it's a very small one, is that the beds are very, very soft and that the sound of the breakfast crowd travel from downstairs to upstairs very quickly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onacluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A group of friends and I just returned from an advenure to Ireland. We stayed at The Heron's Nest for 3 nights and couldn't be more pleased. The house is in a wonderful location, as it overlooks the water for a peaceful retreat. However, it is just a short walk to shopping and anything else you could possibly want to experience. Sorcha was the perfect hostess and prepares the most incredible meals anyone could ever want. Her training as a chef was witnessed, as she prepared breakfast for us each morning, and we were never dissappointed. I tried a different breakfast each morning and they were each outstanding. You will not be dissappointed if you stay here. It was more that I imagined it would be. If I ever make it back to Ireland and Galway, I will definitely stay here again. Thank you Sorcha!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our family of four adults stayed here for three nights on our visit to the Galway area. I had seen some negative reviews but noted that they were from several years ago; I am glad I did not heed them. The Herons Rest was absolutely delightful! We had two rooms, each with its own bath, each on its own floor. Both rooms were plenty large enough for two adults. Though we did not use it, a small TV was discreetly hidden in a wall cabinet--perfect way to provide one but keep it from intruding on those that did not want one. And why would you, since both rooms had great views of the river, the Claddagh area across the river, and the colony of mute swans that live there, and the binoculars on the windowsill provided a way to see them even better. The little touches both in the rooms and in the sitting area on the first floor made it even more special, tea and port in the rooms, muffins waiting in the sitting area when we returned from our day of sightseeing. Sorcha herself was warm and welcoming, and what a chef! We tried to sample all the breakfast offerings over the three days, and all of them were perfect--presentation, freshness, taste--yum. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B&B for 2 nights. It is a perfect location...right on the water on the edge of town. It is a few minute walk to the center of the action...but just far enough out to be peaceful. The breakfast was the best we had in two weeks in Ireland...fresh everything! Sorcha is the perfect hostess...You can not beat this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimgs54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed in The Heron's Nest twice so far and I'm sure I'll stay there again. The house is in a great location, combining a peaceful view over the water with the convenience of being only a stones throw away from the hubbub of the city. The welcome is warm and the breakfasts are particulary fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moloney_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Heron's Rest 16a The Long Walk | City Centre,, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Galway City centre The Herons Rest lies nestled on the banks of the river Corrib over looking the traditional Claddagh harbour. This idyllic waterside location is only 3 mins from the hustle and bustle of the centre of town and the 'craic' of Galway's Latin Quarter. Each cosy chic bedroom has stunning views overlooking the Claddagh Harbour and the famous Galway Bay. Outside the water is teaming with wildlife such as, otters, herons and the largest colony of mute swans in Western Europe. Traditional sailing boats named 'Galway Hookers' can be watched setting sail from your bedroom window and our binoculars enhance the view that stretches across to the Burren Hills. We call it 'keeping it country in the city'. Ethos Our philosophy at The Herons Rest is to ensure our guests get the most out of Galway and its locale. We enjoy providing a home from home experience and strive to share the best of the west with you. Our gourmet breakfasts alone, provisioned from local and organic produce have made us a destination not to miss. In each cosy chic bedroom lots of thoughtful touches enhance your comfort and panoramic views of the bay give a feeling of idyllic hideaway whilst still located in the city centre. We love to share up-to the minute advice with you on the best restaurant recommendations and help you with your reservations. Galway is the perfect base for day tripping and we offer personalised route planning to ensure you can avoid the tourist traps and find unspoilt secret spots. Why not let us pack a gourmet picnic for you? Or book afternoon tea on arrival to start your stay in a relaxing style. Breakfast is a convivial, cooked to order feast, prepared in front of you by your host. It is served at our communal breakfast table between 8- 11am and may also be received in your room. Irish farmhouse cheeses, natural juices and organic local yogurts accompany an 8 option gourmet menu. We are happy top accommodate your specific dietary requirements upon request. At the Herons Rest are passionate about hospitality and look forward to extending a warm welcome to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed And Breakfast
The Herons Rest Boutique Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing