We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A swan's dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Venelles, France
1 review
“A swan's dream”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Walking along the River Corrib to Galway's small fishing port and searching Longwalk number 16a, I saw a heron standing in front of a door sill and said to myself, "This must be some kind of advertisement." Then it moved. When I met Sorcha on the doorstep of The Heron's Nest Boutique B&B and inquired about the heron, she told me that Arthur was a regular visitor for mackerel and bits of food. This was only the beginning of the wonders of this lovely B&B, where I had the best Irish breakfast during my stay, cooked by Sorcha herself, offering a choice of smoked salmon, vegetarian Quesedillas, Irish ham and baked salmon along with homemade muffins, brown bread, jam and much more. Watching swans from the window of my large en suite room as they majestically floated across the port, I drank loose-leaf tea and ate Sorcha's rhubarb and hazelnut biscuits before walking to the city center, very close by, and along the river. In the evening, I enjoyed a marvelous dinner at the Ard Bia, down the street from The Heron's Nest. It was a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    82
    24
    9
    14
See reviews for
74
253
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family and I were delighted to be Sorcha's first guests of the season over the recent Easter holiday weekend. From the moment we arrived we knew it was a perfect choice - the location is right on the water with beautiful views from our room, quaint and quiet but literally steps from the pedestrianized center and the spanish arch. Sorcha is genuinely gracious and warm, and the house is understated and elegant in a very modern and urbane way. It was just our style. She was so sweet to our kids- a high energy 3 year old boy and an inquisitive 8 year old girl- made them and us feel welcome just as we are, and even gave them chocolate bunnies on easter morning. My husband is a Chef in the US, and we could not have been happier with the beautiful food our host prepared every morning. She is a worldclass chef herself, creative and highly skilled and inspired by new Irish cuisine. Sorcha creates a menu of options that satisfies the most discriminating palates (including the children of a chef) with freshly prepared local ingredients. My husband was blown away... and it spoiled us for the rest of our trip. If you are going to Galway, make sure you plan your visit around availability at the Heron's Rest. If you stay ANYWHERE else you will be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryStarrH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice and very clean b&b near city center. Very good breakfast and excellent coffee. Good bed. The central location made this ideal for walking and exploring the town. Parking place including in the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuskaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Comfortable, clean, and wonderfully original rooms, on different levels of this walk up building that, altho fairly new, suits the charming reclaimed area. Perfect location, near restaurants and pubs, with views from our window of the river, filled with swans and the occasional heron (one of which is a sort of house pet). Our host could not have been more accommodating, sending us off with some homemade muffins and scones when we left. Breakfast is made to order with an amazing choice of courses -- local, fresh, delicious. Be sure to get directions for getting there in this very pedestrianized part of Galway. A very special place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandymgAnnArbor_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wow. From the personal service to the beautifully cozy and comfortable room, to the meticulously maintained home and amazing breakfast, this was a feast for all the senses. Our host went above and beyond for us, waiting most of an afternoon for Aer Lingus to deliver a lost suitcase while we were out enjoying the day. Breakfast was a foodie's delight and the attention to detail in the room was fantastic (including the evening Port in a crystal decanter). One of the best weekends EVER. Within walking distance of the Spanish Arch and a host of incredible restaurants. Cannot recommend enough.

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor will have a fantastic view of the harbor, but you'll need to climb stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The B&B is only steps away from the heart of Galway's best pubs/restaurants and located on a quite street named "The long walk" near the Spanish Arch. The double room has a large en-suit bathroom which is both funky and modern at the same time. The chocolate and Rum in the room is a nice extra.
You'll have views of the river Corrib entering the sea, swans resting on the bank and maybe a Heron.
Sorcha, your hostess (a trained chef), will entertain with friendly chat while she cooks your gluten free pancakes or eggs poached/scrambled or homemade organic granola. But that's just the main course, there is fresh savory scones and mini muffin's, the list goes on. Gourmet cooking at it's best.
The stay at The Heron's Rest B&B was a special experience and a high light of the trip to Galway city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis_OG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here with our German friends at the begining of October and loved the place, the views over the bay and the breakfasts where great. Sorcha was extremely helpful and informative about Galway itself and we enjoyed our chats with her over breakfast. We would certainly stay her again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songsofyesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,968 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Heron's Rest 16a The Long Walk | City Centre,, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Galway City centre The Herons Rest lies nestled on the banks of the river Corrib over looking the traditional Claddagh harbour. This idyllic waterside location is only 3 mins from the hustle and bustle of the centre of town and the 'craic' of Galway's Latin Quarter. Each cosy chic bedroom has stunning views overlooking the Claddagh Harbour and the famous Galway Bay. Outside the water is teaming with wildlife such as, otters, herons and the largest colony of mute swans in Western Europe. Traditional sailing boats named 'Galway Hookers' can be watched setting sail from your bedroom window and our binoculars enhance the view that stretches across to the Burren Hills. We call it 'keeping it country in the city'. Ethos Our philosophy at The Herons Rest is to ensure our guests get the most out of Galway and its locale. We enjoy providing a home from home experience and strive to share the best of the west with you. Our gourmet breakfasts alone, provisioned from local and organic produce have made us a destination not to miss. In each cosy chic bedroom lots of thoughtful touches enhance your comfort and panoramic views of the bay give a feeling of idyllic hideaway whilst still located in the city centre. We love to share up-to the minute advice with you on the best restaurant recommendations and help you with your reservations. Galway is the perfect base for day tripping and we offer personalised route planning to ensure you can avoid the tourist traps and find unspoilt secret spots. Why not let us pack a gourmet picnic for you? Or book afternoon tea on arrival to start your stay in a relaxing style. Breakfast is a convivial, cooked to order feast, prepared in front of you by your host. It is served at our communal breakfast table between 8- 11am and may also be received in your room. Irish farmhouse cheeses, natural juices and organic local yogurts accompany an 8 option gourmet menu. We are happy top accommodate your specific dietary requirements upon request. At the Herons Rest are passionate about hospitality and look forward to extending a warm welcome to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed And Breakfast
The Herons Rest Boutique Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing