We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“nice place to visit”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

thank you joan for a wonderful stay. the periwinkle is situated in a quiet area of galway, a 10 minute walk (for slow walkers) into the hustle and bustle of town. the room we had at the top of the stairs was neat, clean and quite comfortable. it took a while to figure out the shower, but once we did, it was great. the breakfast joan prepared was very good and she was attentive, informative and charming.
nothing negative to talk about

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    31
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

THis was a lovely B & B and a great location - a block from the ocean and a 10 minute walk into town so you could enjoy Galway without the city noise. Joan was lovely - very much enjoyed talking with her and her breakfast was terrific! For a family of four the room was small and there didn't seem to be a common sitting area but the room was clean and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTDTT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Greenbush
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our room was gorgeous, the beds and linens supreme, and the breakfast was delicious! This B & B was located less than a ten minute walk, along the ocean, to the heart of Galway! My daughter and I could not have been more pleased with every aspect of this B & B!
Joan was a tremendously gracious and accomodating host, and she also gave us some great tips regarding our planned excursions to the Aran Islands and elsewhere. We cannot wait to go back to Ireland, and there is no doubt where we will stay in Galway! Do the same and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 6 on the main floor, which had a queen bed, a twin bed and a private bathroom. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's a lovely B&B with nice rooms and a good breakfast. Joan, the owner is always eager to help her guests and make everything right for them.
It lies near to the town centre and next to the sea-promenade in a quite area.
We loved it and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irmgard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

A beautiful B&B on a quiet street, right across the street from the Bay, and a short walk from the City Centre. Breakfast was fabulous - my teenage son now expects a traditional Irish breakfast every morning! Best night sleep I had since arriving!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our room was neat, clean, and comfortable! And Joan! A wonderful hostess who went out of her way to make sure we had clean clothes and, in spite of a busy morning, made reservations for us to take the ferry to the Aran Islands (PLUS booking us the last the room at the Pier Hotel on Inishmore). The presentation of the breakfasts (we were there for two) were the best, by far, of any we had during our three week stay in Ireland - plenty of yogurt, fruit, cereals, orange juice, and the eggs and salmon, with their topping of greens, were perfect. My husband and I would stay at the Periwinkle over and over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Tartumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2011

It was a nice stay in a lovely house with very lovely hostess Joan. Just 10 minutes walk from city center. Lovely breakfast every morning, possible to choose between different dishes. Feels like visiting your granny. Lovely!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#33 of 45 in Galway
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 185 in Galway
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#19 of 185 in Galway
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 185 in Galway
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 185 in Galway
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawndale B&B
Lawndale B&B
#78 of 185 in Galway
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Periwinkle 14 Grattan Road Grattan Park | Grattan Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing