We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best restaurants in Galway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Latin Quarter Bistro

The Latin Quarter Bistro
Ranked #14 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: French, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of Galway city, Latin Quarter Wine Bar & Bistro offers good quality & affordable Irish food in casual & relax surroundings. Our chef Patrick carefully sources his ingredients to create classical bistro dishes with a modern Irish twist. Our wine list mostly consists of reasonably priced European wines and a few more upmarket houses.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaurants in Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a place to have a meal and decided to try this place. We had no reservations, but the staff kindly fitted us in. Not only was the service wonderful, but the food was just amazing. We are still talking about how delicious it was! Have been recommending it to friends and family since. Considering the quality, I feel it's very reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmavanderp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    92
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
167 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

It was getting late and some places we tried had stopped serving, so we just happened in here -- fortunately! My starter (shrimp, served with head on, which normally grosses me out) was one of the best dishes I've ever had. The rest of our meals were also great. It's a small, charming place. Check it out!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unfortunately Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was taken aback that such a new restaurant had skyrocketed to number one of all the restaurants in Galway so quickly. I thought I must try it out immediately as it must be something special indeed. Although the service was good and prompt, the food was very bland. My dining partner had to add a lot of salt and pepper to get any flavour from his pasta dish. I had the lamb which although very tender, had little to no taste and came upon a bed of overcooked vegetables in a bland tomato sauce with a small amount of diced potato. If I had cooked it myself I would have been disapointed. Also for a wine bar the selection of wine was very limited. Overall very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Excellent visit. The food was outstanding, wine was great. I had the Rib Eye and my wife had John Dory - both outstanding. Portions are good. Oysters for starters - fresh and attached to shell (not from a can). The place is small - get a reservation. We walked in and they sat us at 7:00 on a friday - so not many people know about this place. It really was a great meal - can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djtoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were drawn to the The Latin Quarter wine Bar by the candelabras in the window. It just seemed like such a lovely little place so we wandered in. The hostess who we think was the owner said there was a table available in the window area with the candelabra. It was the best place to sit facing the window, sipping our wine and watching the people go by. There was just something very unique and romantic sitting with the candelabra and the big window.

Our meal was excellent-especially the mussels appetizer. Perfectly cooked and a delicious broth.
The service was attentive and very friendly.
Definitely check it out if you are in Galway. It was one of the more memorable dining experiences during our trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thelevines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Latin Quarter Bistro also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Latin Quarter Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing