We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!”
Review of Hotel Meyrick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Meyrick
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The staff at the Meyrick were absolutely fabulous abd extremely helpful at all times. Our room on the fifth floor was fabulous. we ate in the Oyster Grill, where the food was gorgeous and the service was excellent. We ordered room service breakfast, which was the only disappointing thing about our time. There was not enough cutlery, delph, napkins or food! The tea was stewed and the coffee was not great. When checking out, we mentioned this to reception, who kindly took the room service charge off the bill!
Overall, we had a fabulous time and will definitely be back - mind you I would want to be on the fifth floor again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAXIMAN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
Dear MAXIMAN101

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us here at Hotel Meyrick.
We are disappointed with the issue regarding your room service, and the matter will be forwarded to the Restaurant Manager to ensure it does not occur again.

Many thanks once again

Hotel Meyrick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    438
    219
    107
    78
See reviews for
215
674
39
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Our room overlooking Eyre Square was beautiful and comfortable. We enjoyed the full breakfast every morining and a delicious afternoon tea one day. The staff is just great. My experience with the staff began with making our resdervations where the staff member I worked with was very helpful in helping us select a room and also recommended an excellent driver and car for us. All staff in the hotel were competnt and charming. Our stay was a complete success.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
Dear katetrunwit
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Meyrick.
We are pleased to read your comments about the hotel and your praise of our staff has been forwarded to all departments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Hotel Meyrick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed in this hotel at the beginning of october . Hotel beautiful very cosy and extremely pretty . Food fabulous even room service food excellent. Every member of staff we came in contact with was just so lovely and helpful ,absolutely nothing was a problem for them. Excellent location also spent a lovely evening shopping . Kate

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katetrunwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife over the summer. Could not fault any aspect of our stay. We were greeted with pleasent and helpful staff, had a beautiful room overlooking Eyre Square and recieved a lovely menu of food each night. In terms of location I could not see a hotel in a better spot, a minute walk to town centre and shops as well as being a few paces from bus and rail transport. All options covered at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear Kkros

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to see that you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Many thanks

Hotel Meyrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during a 10 day tour of Ireland which included 4 & 5 star hotels in Waterford, Cork, Killarney. Wonderful setting, warm welcome but the comments of other guests about the cleanliness rang true. We were in a suite on 5th floor overlooking the station, big spacious room but oh how tired. If my bedroom carpet was as stained I would have ripped it up, the sofa was torn and worn and the blinds stained. No air conditioning so the alternative was an open window and the station announcements. The dining room was dark and this hid the dirty condition, the carpet was covered in food stains, the lights needed a wash and the room was in need of redecoration.
I am surprised that Marriott are not checking these types of comments, they are not isolated rants from the disenfranchised but a consistent trend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I have recently had a great experience in the Hotel Meyrick, with my extremely large extended family (30 of us, between the ages of 8-75). We had the opportunity to appreciate an excellent service from the moment of arrival to our departure.
The Valet staff were welcoming and friendly, providing ease with the hassel of parking in busy galway at the weekend, to the reception and resturant staff who were helpful and polite catering to all our needs. The food in the Oyster Grill was amazing and worthy of an award.
I would strongly recommend this hotel with its wonderful location to all. Galway is a old but vibrant city and this hotel is a prime example of capturing the cities essence.
My congratulations to the hotel as a whole for providing a supurb hassel free service which lives up to the well deserved 4*.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear Devon2010

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Meyrick.
It is a welcome reward for both staff and management to receive a review such as yours. I am very glad that everything went well for you and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Meyrick Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We had a large group playing Golf in Galway and found the Meyrick to offer best value for money for a two day stay. From the moment we enquired about availability the Manager looking after us was extremely helpful, courteous and professional. The Hotel is in a fantastic location right on Eyre Square, so everything is walking distance, no need for taxis. The Bus & train terminate around the corner to it is easily accessible no matter what form of transport you take. There is also valet parking or a discounted rate for the multi storey car park around the corner. We ate in the restaurant and the food was really nice and the breakfast has everything you could wish for. The staff were extremely helpful, courteous and friendly througout our stay and nothing was a problem. I could not fault this hotel in any way and would highly recommend it for any kind of trip to Galway. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeyrickManager, Manager at Hotel Meyrick, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Dear Mahonb

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a pleasurable time with us and are proud to see the kind comments you have given with regard to the hotel. we look forward to welcoming you and your associates back in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Meyrick Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Galway
489 reviews
0.9 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.0 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meyrick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meyrick

Property: Hotel Meyrick
Address: Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#15 Business Hotel in Galway
#15 Family Hotel in Galway
#16 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meyrick 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Galway City, the 4 star Hotel Meyrick combines stunning Victorian elegance with modern luxury and style. Enjoy a warm welcome, luxurious accommodation, a range of bar and dining options and the most central location. Enjoy a gorgeous Table D Hote evening meal or order from our A la Carte menu in our restaurant- No 15 on the Square. Relax in our beautiful Gaslight Bar & Brasserie for informal lunch or dinner with drinks, or in our elegant Oyster Bar. During your stay book into our Square Spa on Level 5. Along with treating yourself to a soothing spa treatment, avail of all facilities including Jacuzzi and our Outdoor Rooftop Hot Top. Ideally situated overlooking bustling Eyre Square, the delights of Galway are on your doorstep. With Shop street 2 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meyrick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meyrick Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing